New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The Nobel Prize committee on Thursday announced Polish author Olga Tokarcruz and Austrian author Peter Handke as winners of 2018 and 2019 Nobel Prize for Literature.

Olga won the price for narrative imagination while Peter Handke received the award for influential work in exploring the specificity of human experience.

In a tweet post, the committee wrote, "The peculiar art of Peter Handke, awarded the 2019 in Literature, is the extraordinary attention to landscapes and the material presence of the world, which has made cinema and painting two of his greatest sources of inspiration."

Peter Handke made his debut with Die Hornissen in 1966 and went on to write over 70 plays in English, Swedish and French. His recent works include The Great Fall and The Moravian Night. He has established himself as one of the most influential writers in Europe post World War II with number of works in different genres. 

Olga Tokarcruz, on the other hand, is famous for her novels between cultural oppsites; home vs alienation, male vs female, reason vs madness and nature vs culture. She made her debut as fiction writer with ‘The Journey of the Book-People’.


Also Read: In a first, Saudi Arabia permits foreign men and women to share hotel rooms

The prize was postponed last time for the first instance in seven decades after it was hit by a sexual scandal following the #MeToo movement.

Nobel prize is considered the most prestigious in literary world. The first Nobel Prize was awarded Sully Prudhomme in 1901. Since then 114 people have received the award, out of which 14 are women.

Earlier, the Swedish based Nobel committee had announced the winners of the Nobel Prize for Chemistry (John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino), Physics (James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz) and Medicine (Kaelin Jr, Ratcliffe and Semeza) in last three days. It is expected to release the name of Nobel Prize of Peace on Friday.

Posted By: James Kuanal