New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Sweden-based Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on Wednesday announced the Nobel Prize winner for Chemistry. The coveted award was jointly given to Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna for their works in the development of a method for genome editing. 

While Charpentier was born in France in 1968 and currently is the Director of the Max Planck Unit for the Science of Pathogens, Berlin, Germany, Jennifer A. Doudna was born in 1964 in the USA and is currently a professor in University of California, Berkeley.

Both Charpentier and Doudna discovered one of gene technology's sharpest tool, known as the CRISPR/Cas9 genetic scissors. By using this technology, researchers can now change the DNA of animals, plants and microorganism with extremely high precision.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said that the technology has had a revolutionary impact on the life sciences, is contributing to new cancer therapies and may make the dream of curing inherited diseases come true.

“The CRISPR/Cas9 genetic scissors have revolutionized the molecular life sciences, brought new opportunities for plant breeding, are contributing to innovative cancer therapies and may make the dream of curing inherited diseases come true,” the academy said on the Nobel Prize Twitter account.

The Noble Prize comes with a gold medal and prize money of 10 million Krona (1.1 million USD), a courtesy of bequest left more than a century ago by Nobel Prize creator, Alfred Nobel.

The 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to John Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino for the development of lithium-ion batteries.

Previously, the Nobel Prize for Chemistry was awarded to 183 individuals on 111 occasions, except for eight occasions -- 1916, 1917, 1919, 1924, 1933, 1940, 1941 and 1942 -- due to the then prevailing World War 1 and World War 2, for not meeting the criteria in the foundation's statutes.

Among the 183 individuals who have received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry, 71 scientists from the United States of America (USA), followed by 33 from Germany and the United Kingdom (UK) each. 

Three of the four Nobel laureates, who received the prize twice in their lives, have been awarded one of their awards in Chemistry.

Since its inception in 1901, only five women have been awarded this coveted recognition, including Marie Curie, her daughter Irene Joliot-Curie, Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin, Ada Yonath and Frances H. Arnold. Marie Curie, the only woman to have received two Nobel Prizes, received the recognition for physics and chemistry.

Some facts and figures about the Nobel Prize for Chemistry:

- 63 Chemistry Prizes have been given to one Laureate only.

- 23 Chemistry Prizes have been shared by two Laureates.

- 25 Chemistry Prizes have been shared between three Laureates

- The Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to 184 Laureates 1901-2019. As Frederick Sanger has been awarded twice, there are 183 individuals who have received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry since 1901.

- To date, the youngest Nobel Laureate in Chemistry is Frederic Joliot, who was 35 years old when he was awarded the Chemistry Prize in 1935, with his wife Irene Joliot-Curie, the daughter of Marie and Pierre Curie.

- The oldest Nobel Laureate in Chemistry to date is John B. Goodenough, who was 97 years old when he was awarded the Chemistry Prize in 2019.

Multiple Nobel Laureates in Chemistry

Marie Curie:
Physics 1903
Chemistry 1911

Linus Pauling:
Chemistry 1954
Peace 1962

Frederick Sanger:
Chemistry 1958
Chemistry 1980

Posted By: Talib Khan