New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursady expressed gratitute after was elected unopposed as a non-permanent member of the 15-member United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for the term 2021-22.  India recieved an overwhelming support of 184 countries in the 193-member General Assembly. 

PM Modi thanking the nations for their overwhelming support said, "Deeply grateful for the overwhelming support shown by the global community for India's membership of the United Nations Security Council. India will work with all member countries to promote global peace, security, resilience and equity", Prime Minister Narendra Modi said. 

The United Nations General Assembly held elections for the President of the 75th session of the Assembly, five non-permanent members of the Security Council and members of the Economic and Social Council yesterday (June 17) at the UN headquarters keeping the COVID-19 protocols in mind.

Celebrating the occasion, India's permanent representative to UN, TS Tirumurti, said, "I am truly delighted that India has been elected as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council for 2021- 22.

"We have received overwhelming support and I am deeply humbled by the tremendous confidence which the member states of the United Nations have reposed in India. Our elections to the Security Council are a testament to Prime Minister Modi's vision and his inspiring global leadership, particularly, in the time of COVID-19. The outcome is a reflection of the strong campaign legged by External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar," he said in a video message.


Tirumurti said India has become a member of the Security Council at a critical juncture and we are confident that in the covid and the post covid world, India "will continue to provide leadership and a new orientation for a reformed multilateral system."

Ireland secured 128 votes - exactly the two-thirds majority needed to qualify, while Kenya secured 113 votes. Norway was elected to other seats in the "Western Europe and other states" category with 130 votes, as per poll figures cited by The Irish Times.


France, Britain, the US, Russia and China are the five permanent members of the UN body, with the remaining 10 seats rotating among other member states who serve for two-year terms. The five permanent members have the power to veto decisions.

To be elected to the Council, candidate countries need a two-thirds majority of ballots of Member States that are present and voting in the Assembly.

India was a candidate for a non-permanent seat from the Asia-Pacific category for the 2021-22 term. Its victory was a given since it was the sole candidate vying for the lone seat from the grouping.

New Delhi's candidature was unanimously endorsed by the 55-member Asia-Pacific grouping, including China and Pakistan, in June last year.

Previously, India has been elected as a non-permanent member of the Council for the years 1950-1951, 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977-1978, 1984-1985, 1991-1992 and most recently in 2011-2012.



(With Agencies Inputs)

Posted By: Talib Khan