Days after ban on 59 Chinese apps, including popular short video sharing platform TikTok, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday launched Aatmanirbhar Bharat App Innovation Challenge to promote Made-In-India apps. The prime minister said that there is immense enthusiasm among the tech and start-up community in India to create world-class mobile applications.

"Today there is immense enthusiasm among the tech & start-up community to create world-class Made in India Apps. To facilitate their ideas and products, the Ministry of Electronics & IT and Atal Innovation Mission are launching the Aatmanirbhar Bharat App Innovation Challenge," PM Modi said.

Modi said that the Indian tech community has a "good opportunity" to create apps to satisfy the local market needs as well as complete with the world. He said that the government will help the tech community to achieve the objective.

What is the Aatmanirbhar Bharat Innovation challenge?

The Aatmanirbhar Bharat Innovation challenge, Modi said, will run in two tracks - Promotion of Existing Apps and Development of New Apps.

"For promotion of existing Apps and Platforms across the categories of E-learning, Work-from-Home, Gaming, Business, Entertainment, Office Utilities, and Social Networking, Governmentwill provide mentoring, hand-holding and support. Track-01 will work in mission mode for identifying good quality Apps for the leader-board and shall be completed in around a month.

"For incubating new Apps and Platforms, Track-02 initiative will work to help create new champions in India by providing support in ideation, incubation, prototyping and roll out along with market access," he wrote in a LinkedIn post.

The announcement has come days after India banned as many as 59 Chinese apps, including TikTok, Helo, Likee and Shareit, over national security concerns. The government said that these apps were "engaged in activities which are prejudicial to sovereignty and integrity of India, defence of India, the security of state and public order."

Posted By: Shashikant Sharma