New Delhi | Jagran Sports Desk: A top performance from captain Mohammad Nabibaksh, Sukesh Hegde and Jeeva Kumar helped Bengal Warriors win their maiden Pro-Kabaddi League title by defeating Dabang Delhi K.C. 39-34 in the PKL final held at TransStadia stadium in Ahmedabad on Saturday. 
The match began with Dabangg Delhi dominating the game with a lead of 11-3 in the first eight minutes. However, clinical raids by Ravindra Ramesh Kumawat and Nabikash helped the Warriors enforce an all-out on Dabang Delhi K.C to reduce the deficit by a single point. The score between the two teams were 17-17 at half-time.
Successful tackles by Jeeva Kumar, Nabibaksh and Kumawat helped Bengal take a slight edge over opponents in the first ten minutes of the second half. Dabang Delhi fought their way back into the contest via Naveen, but Warriors grew in confidence and forced another all out on the rival. In the final few minutes, Bengal Warriors fought wisely and ran down the clock with tactical raids to gain control of the game.
Naveen Kumar of Dabang Delhi was the top performer of the match. He scored a total of 18 raid points, but couldn't help Dabang Delhi win solely on his performance. Nabibaksh of Bengal Warriors scored nine raid points while Jeeva Kumar managed four tackle points.
Bengal Warriors coach BC Ramesh, who won his second straight title after last season's victory with Bengaluru Bulls said, "Nabibaksh was the x-factor for Bengal Warriors, He proved to be the missing piece in the puzzle for the Warriors in this season''.
Dabang Delhi skipper Joginder Narwal felt his team did not play well in the final but expressed pride in the manner in which they played this year.
A total of 12 teams participated in the seventh season of Pro-Kabaddi League 2019. Apart from Warriors and Daband Delhi, UP Yoddha, U Mumba, Haryana Steelers, and Bengaluru were the other teams to enter the playoff stage of the tournament. 

Posted By: James Kuanal