New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The Sports Ministry has sent a list of nine women for Padma awards. It includes Mary Kom, PV Sindhu, Vinesh Phogat (wrestling), Harmanpreet Kaur, Rani Rampal (Hockey), Tashi, Nungshi Malik (Mountaineering), Manik Batra (Table Tennis) and Puma Shirur (Shooting). The recommendations have been sent to the Home Ministry. The award would be announced on the eve of Republic Day celebrations next year.

Six-time boxing champion Mary Kom has been recommended for Padma Vibushan, which is the highest honour after Bharat Ratna. She has received Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri previously in 2013 and 2006 respectively.

Also Read | Euro 2020 Qualifiers: Ronaldo scores four as Portugal crush Lithuania 5-1

The 36-year-old will be eyeing to qualify for 2020 (her second) after securing bronze in 2012 London Olympics. Last year, she clinched the world title in the 48 kg category.

Padma Vibushan has been received by only three male sportsperson in the past. It includes V Anand (Chess in 2007), Sachin Tendulkar and mountaineer Sir Edmund Hillary (2008)-- The latter was awarded posthumously.

Badminton ace PV Sindhu who won Gold in World Badminton Championship last week has been recommended for Padma Bhushan. Earlier in 2015, she was awarded Padma Shri.

Posted By: James Kuanal