New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The Rajasthan High Court on Thursday asked the Sachin Pilot camp, including the rebel deputy chief minister and 18 MLAs supporting him, to file a fresh petition challenging the disqualification notice sent to them by the Speaker.

The court granted Pilot till Friday's time to file the petition saying that a a new becnh will be constituted to hear it.  

Rajasthan Assembly Speaker C P Joshi had on Tuesday sent out disqualification notices to Pilot and 18 other dissident MLAs on the basis of the complaint made by the Congress. The dissidents were asked to reply by Friday.

The party said the MLAs had defied a whip and skipped the Congress Legislature Party meetings on Monday and Tuesday. It also referred to their "hostile" media statements.

It wanted action under paragraph 2 (1) (a) of the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution, which disqualifies MLAs if “voluntarily” give up the membership of the party which they represent in the House.


The Congress letter said the Supreme Court has “unequivocally held” that the provision comes into effect when the conduct of an MLA leads to this inference.

Among those sent notices are Vishvendra Singh and Ramesh Meena, who were sacked along with Pilot from the state cabinet after their rebellion against Ashok Gehlot.

Others include Deepender Singh Shekhawat, Bhanwar Lal Sharma and Harish Chandra Meena, who had also given statements to the media challenging the Gehlot government.


The Congress has sought disqualification of Pilot and the dissident MLAs from the state assembly even as it repeated that the party has not closed its doors on him.

Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot also talked tough, accusing the former deputy chief minister of being directly involved in the alleged horse-trading with the opposition BJP to bring down his government.

But, amid this tough posturing, the Congress said the dissident MLAs can still return to the Congress fold.

Sachin Pilot has been upset since the Congress picked Gehlot for the chief minister's post after the 2018 assembly polls. His supporters had credited him for leading the Congress to victory as the state unit president.

In the 200-member assembly, the Congress has 107 MLAs and the BJP 72.

In the past, the ruling party has claimed the support of 13 independents, two MLAs each from the CPM and the Bhartiya Tribal Party (BTP), and one from the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD). 

Posted By: Abhinav Gupta