New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who took oath as the Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister on Monday night, won the confidence motion in the Madhya Pradesh state Assembly on Tuesday morning amid a boycott of the vote by the opposition Congress MLAs.

Samajwadi Party (SP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and independent MLAs in the Assembly also voted in favour of the motion. As the special session of the state Assembly began, Chouhan moved a one-line proposal to seek trust of the House, which was endorsed by members through the voice vote.

Senior BJP MLA Jagdish Devda, one of the members of the speaker's panel, was on the chair of Speaker. After Chouhan passed the floor test, the House was adjourned till March 27. In the morning, the BJP issued whip to its MLAs to support the trust vote.

The vote comes after Kamal Nath, on March 20, tendered his resignation from the post of the Chief Minister to Governor Lalji Tandon following the resignation of 22 Congress MLAs.

Shivraj Singh Chouhan on Monday took oath as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh for the fourth time, bringing an end to the month-long politicial crisis in the state. The 61-year-old BJP leader was sworn in by Governor Lalji Tandon at Raj Bhawan at 9 pm.

Before taking oath, Chouhan on Monday said that his main aim as the chief minister would be to stop the deadly coronavirus from spreading.

"As a BJP worker, I'll work honestly for development of MP. But right now the aim is to stop spread of COVID-19. I've appealed to party workers to not celebrate the oath-taking ceremony and not come out on streets. They should stay at home and pray for the newly formed government," he said, as quoted by news agency ANI.  

Chouhan had taken charge as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh for the fourth time. Chouhan had earlier served as the state's Chief Minister between 2003 and 2018.

Hours after Shivraj Singh Chouhan took oath as chief minister of the state, Madhya Pradesh Assembly Speaker N P Prajapati also resigned from his post. In his resignation letter submitted to Deputy Speaker Hina Kavre, Prajapati said he is resigning as speaker of the state Assembly on moral grounds.


(With Agencies Inputs)

Posted By: Talib Khan