Bengaluru | Jagran News Desk: The Congress-JD(S)coalition government in Karnataka is on the verge of losing its power in the state if the resignations of the rebel MLAs are accepted by the Speaker.

To avert the major crisis, senior Congress leaders on Saturday started meeting the rebel MLAs to negotiate and persuade them to withdraw their resignations.

A day after Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy made a surprise announcement in the Assembly that he would seek a trust vote, efforts were intensified to reach out to the dissident legislators.

Congress leader DK Shivakumar along with Deputy CM G Parameshwara met Housing Minister MTB Nagaraj at his residence for almost four and a half hours to convince him to withdraw his resignation. Nagaraj had resigned from the MLA post on Wednesday.

A similar attempt was on to pacify MLAs Ramalinga Reddy, Munirathna and R Roshan Baig.

CM Kumaraswamy himself is in direct talks with at least four Congress legislators, who have resigned, and was hopeful that they would withdraw their resignation.

Both Congress and BJP have sent their MLAs to resorts to keep the flock together ahead of the floor test which is likely to happen in the coming week.

BJP state president B S Yeddyurappa on the situation going on in Karnataka said, "There's confusion in Congress and JD(S) due to which the MLAs are fleeing the party. A systematic conspiracy is going on to bring the MLAs back. The atmosphere is chaotic and the fall of the government is imminent". Claiming that the state government has lost majority, he said seeking the vote of confidence was "meaningless".

Kumaraswamy made the announcement about trust vote on the floor of the Assembly after the Supreme Court Friday ordered the Speaker to maintain status quo on the resignations of 10 rebel MLAs belonging to the Congress-JDS coalition till July 16.

The coalition government, which has been shaky since it came into being last year after a post-poll arrangement in the wake of a hung verdict, is facing a serious crisis now with 16 MLAs, 13 of the Congress and three of the JD(S) resigning from the Assembly.

(With inputs from PTI)

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma