Kolkata | Jagran Politics Desk: A month after its unprecedented victory in West Bengal Assembly Elections, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Saturday made crucial changes and appointed Mamata Banerjee's nephew Abhishek, the Lok Sabha MP from Diamond Harbour, as party's national general secretary.

Abhishek's appointment as TMC's national general secretary is crucial as the party might consider him as its future leaders after Mamata. Notably, several TMC leaders had switched sides to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) just before the beginning of the eight-phase assembly elections in West Bengal due to Abhishek's growing influence in the party.

Meanwhile, the TMC also appointed actor-turned-politician Saayoni Ghosh as its youth congress chief. Similarly, Kunal Ghosh and Dola Sen were made TMC's state general secretary and president of National Trinamool Trade Union Congress (INTTUC) respectively.

On the other hand, Ritabrata Banerjee was appointed as TMC's state INTTUC general secretary while MP Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar was made the party's Mahila Morcha president.

The key changes were done at the organisational meeting of the TMC that was attended by party supremo Mamata Banerjee and poll strategist Prashant Kishor, who played a crucial role in TMC's win in West Bengal polls.

Announcing the changes, senior TMC leader Partha Chatterjee said that the party working committee has decided that "one person will hold just one post in the party". Chatterjee further stated that no discussion was held on turncoats, who had quit the TMC to join the BJP ahead of the assembly polls, and were now willing to return to the party fold.

"The issue of individuals willing to return to TMC wasn't discussed in today’s meeting. Mamata will decide on this matter. She may form a committee to take a final call on this," he said at a press meet.

The TMC romped home in Bengal, pocketing 213 of the 292 assembly seats that went to polls and secured a third straight term in office. The Mamata Banerjee-led party's main challenger, the BJP, bagged 77 seats, against a claim that they would win more than 200 seats.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma