New Delhi | Jagran Politics Desk: President of the Bharatiya Janata Party's Tripura unit, Manik Saha has been named as the new Chief Minister of Tripura after BJP leader Biplab Kumar Deb on Saturday announced his resignation from the post ahead of the state assembly polls next year. Deb submitted his resignation to Governor SN Arya at the Raj Bhavan. Union Cabinet Minister, Bhupender Yadav announced Manik Saha will be the new Chief Minister of Tripura.

The swearing-in ceremony of the Council of Ministers by the Governor of Tripura will take place at 11:30 am on May 15 at Raj Bhawan, Agartala.

Congratulating Manik Saha, Deb wrote "best wishes to @DrManikSaha2 ji on being elected as the legislature party leader. I believe under PM Shri @narendramodi Ji's vision and leadership Tripura will prosper."

"I thank Central leadership & people of Tripura for giving me the responsibility to serve Tripura as a Chief Minister. I have wholeheartedly served my State & will always work for the betterment of my State. Tripura shall definitely march ahead in the path of devt. Jai Hind," Deb said after resigning. 

The resignation came two days after Biplab Kumar Deb met Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP president JP Nadda in New Delhi on Thursday for a confabulation on the party's affairs in the Northeastern state. There have been rumours of infighting within the BJP's state unit.

Meanwhile, Union Minister and BJP leader Bhupender Yadav and BJP National General Secretary Vinod Tawde have reached Tripura as observers for the election of the BJP legislature party leader.

According to the news agency ANI, the BJP is likely to announce Deb's replacement today evening during the legislative party meeting at 8 pm. "A meeting of the legislative party will be held at 8 pm. The new leader will be elected", Bhupender Yadav said.

Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Varma, who is related to the erstwhile Tripura royal family, is expected to take charge as the interim chief minister, PTI sources said. The state is slated to go to assembly elections next year.

Posted By: Sugandha Jha