New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Trinamool Congress Supremo and incumbent chief minister, Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday took the oath as the chief minister of West Bengal for the third consecutive term after the 66-year-old spearheaded her party to a landslide victory in the state Assembly Elections. 

Mamata Banerjee was sworn in as the CM today and her oath was administered by West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankar. She read her oath in Bengali. However, only the CM was administered the oath today and other legislators who have won the West Bengal elections will take the oath later. 

After taking the oath, the chief minister said that the first aim is to combat the COVID-19 crisis in the state and also said that she will hold a big celebration for TMC's victory once the pandemic got over. 

"I thank all the people who were looking at the Bengal elections. Our first priority is tackling COVID-19. Secondly, I urge all political parties to look around so that violence to be controlled. From today onwards, I am taking law and order into my hands. I will post the police accordingly to tackle the situation," she said after taking the oath, adding "I will hold a big celebration once the pandemic is over".

Meanwhile, Governor Jagdeep Dhankar urged the Chief Minister to take note of the worrisome violence that erupted in the state after the elections in which reportedly 25 people have lost their life.

"I congratulate Mamata Ji on her third term. Our priority is that we must bring an end to this senseless violence that has affected society at large. I have every hope that the CM on an urgent basis will take all steps to restore rule of law," said Dhankhar as quoted by news agency ANI. 

Mamata became the Chief Minister of West Bengal for the first time in 2011 by ending the 34-year-long CPI(M) regime, one of the longest-serving elected governments in the world. After ruling the state for two successive terms, the game of thrown of 2021 was not less than a do-or-die situation for her.

Her party TMC secured 213 seats in the eight-phased West Bengal Assembly elections while her closest rival Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 77 seats. 

Posted By: Talibuddin Khan