Chennai | Jagran Politics Desk: Continuing with what the exit polls had predicted earlier, the MK Stalin-led Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) is all set to form the next government in Tamil Nadu. Currently, the party has crossed the halfway mark and is ahead on 155 seats in the 234-member Tamil Nadu legislative assembly.

On the other hand, the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) and its allies have failed to overcome the 10-year anti-incumbency and ahead only on 78 seats.

Following DMK's massive win, Stalin thanked the people for voting his party to power and assured them that he would truthfully work for them. He also expressed his 'heartfelt thanks' to all the people of the state for mandating his party to govern Tamil Nadu for the sixth time.

Stalin also said that going by the leading position of the DMK-led alliance in majority of the constituencies, it is clear that the party will form the next government.

"The people have given their massive support realising that their well-being would be protected if DMK was voted to power, he said.

He also urged the party's counting agents in the vote counting centres to be alert and not to come out till counting ends.

Stalin also asked the party agents in counting centres to inform the headquarters if there is an inordinate delay in issuance of the certificate of victory to the candidates.

"The victory was a commendation for over 50 years of his party's committed work for the people and state. Also, it was in recognition of everyday hardwork of partymen to fulfill the dream of bringing the party to power," he added.

Meanwhile, DMK workers and supporters were seen celebrating in large numbers outside Anna Arivalayam, the party headquarters here, as official trends show the party leading, despite a ban on victory processions imposed by the Election Commission (EC) in the wake of rising COVID-19 cases in the country.

The Assembly polls in Tamil Nadu were held on April 6. The counting of votes began at 8 am today. The fate of 3,998 candidates was sealed during polling across 234 constituencies in the state on April 6.

(With ANI, IANS inputs)

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma