New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) chief MK Stalin on Friday took the oath as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu days after his party registered a thumping victory in Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections 2021. Stalin was administered the oath as CM by Tamil Nadu Governor Banwarilal Purohit. 

Along with MK Stalin, 33 more members of his cabinet took the oath as ministers at the Raj Bhavan in state capital Chennai. Apart from the CM, Stalin will also hold many other portfolios in the Tamil Nadu government including Home Ministery and those related to administrative and police services, special programmes and the welfare of differently-abled persons.  

The 33 ministers in Stalin's cabinet include 19 former ministers and 15 new faces. The cabinet also includes two women among the newly sworn-in ministers. The oath-taking ceremony came a day after Tamil Nadu Governor Banwarilal Purohit approved the recommendations made by Stalin regarding the MLAs to be appointed as ministers and their portfolios. However, MK Stalin's son Udhayanidhi does not feature in the list of ministers. 

Medical and Family Welfare portfolio has been assigned to former Chennai Mayor Ma Subramanian and Water Resources has been given to DMK general secretary S Duraimurugan. Udhayanidhi's close aid Anbil Mahesh Poyyamozhi has been given charge of the School Education department.

S Raghupathy will handle the law department, R Sakkarapani will be minister for Food and Civil supplies, T Mano Thangaraj of Information Technology and Palanivel Thiagarajan of Finance and Human Resources.

DMK had fought the elections with its allies and got an absolute majority on its own. DMK won 133 seats on its own in the 234-member assembly and fought the polls in alliance with some other parties including Congress. Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi, Communist Party of India, Communist Party of India (Marxist), Indian Union Muslim League and others.

Posted By: Talibuddin Khan