New Delhi | Jagran Politics Desk: The Election Commission on Friday announced the complete schedule for upcoming assembly polls in five states -- West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Assam and Puducherry. The EC said that the West Bengal polls will be conducted in eight phases while Assam polls will be held in three phases. Meanwhile, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry polls will be conducted in one phase each and the results for all states will be declared on May 2, the EC said.  

While the terms of the legislative assemblies of four states -- West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Assam -- will end in May and June, President's rule has been enforced in Puducherry after the Chief Minister V Narayanasamy-led Congress government collapsed after it was reduced to a minority in the union territory assembly.

Here are the highlights from EC's presser:

19:00 pm: Also Read -- Assembly Elections 2021: Polling in 5 states to be held from March 27 to April 6, all results on May 2

18:10 pm: Also Read -- Assembly Elections 2021 Schedule: List of important dates for polling in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala and Puducherry

18:05 pm: Also Read -- Puducherry Assembly Elections 2021: Single-phase voting for 30 assembly seats on April 6, counting of votes on May 2 | Schedule here

18:00 pm: Also Read -- Assam Assembly Elections 2021: Polls to be conducted in 3 phases, results on May 2 | Check complete schedule here

17:55 pm: Also Read -- Kerala Assembly Elections 2021: Polling to be held in 1 phase on April 6, counting of votes on May 2 | Details here

17:50 pm: Also Read -- Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections 2021: Polling to be held on April 6, results on May 2 | Details inside

17:45 pm: Also Read -- West Bengal Assembly Elections 2021: 8-phase polling from March 27 to April 29, counting of votes on May 2

17:34 pm: Bengal to see 8-phase elections. 1st phase of polling on March 27, second phase of polling on April 1, third phase of polling on April 6, fourth phase of polling on April 10, fifth phase of polling on April 17, sixth phase polling on April 22, seventh phase on April 26, final phase polling on April 29, says EC

17:25 pm: Puducherry elections to be held on 6th April, counting on 2nd May: Chief Election Commissioner

17:25 pm: Tamil Nadu assembly elections to be held in a single phase on April 6; counting of votes on May 2: Chief Election Commissioner

17:18 pm: Assam: polls to be held in 3 phases

1st phase:

date of poll --

date of counting -- May 2

Assam 2nd phase

issue of notification -- March 5

date of poll -- April 1

Assam 3rd phare

date of poll -- April 6

date of counting -- May 2

17:12 pm: 1,000 voters allowed per polling booth, says EC

17:08 pm: MCC will come into force with announcement of dates, says EC

17:04 pm: All festivals, examinations been taken into coinsideration while deciding the poll schedule, says EC

17:00 pm: Vivek Dubey, Mrinal Das - special poll observers in West Bengal, says EC

16:58 pm: A total of 824 assembly constituencies shall be going for polls during these elections. 18.68 crore electors will cast vote at 2.7 lakh polling stations in Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Kerala, Assam and Puducherry, says EC

16:56 pm: Adequate CAPFs deployment shall be ensured during elections. All critical, vulnerable polling stations identified and an adequate number of CAPFs will be deployed, says EC

16:54 pm: Postal Ballot has been extended to voters above age of 80, people with disabilities and people involved in essential services. Polling time has been increased by one hour, says EC

16:52 pm: EC says:

number of people accompanying a person for nomination - 2

number of vehicles - 2

door to door campaigning - 5 persons

roadshow - 5 vehicles

16:48 pm: All poll officials have been declared frontline workers by Health Ministry, says EC

16:48 pm: EC says:

Assam term of assembly -- May 31, 126 assembly seats

Tamil Nadu term of assembly -- May 24, 234 assembly seats

West Bengal term of assembly -- May 30, 294 assembly seats

Kerala term of assembly -- June 1, 140 assembly seats

Puducherry term of assembly -- June 8, 30 assembly seats

16:44 pm: 18.68 crore electors will cast votes in upcoming polls: EC

16:41 pm: In the thick of the pandemic, ECI started test trials with elections to 18 seats to Rajya Sabha. After that, came the challenge of the Bihar elections, it was indeed a watershed moment for ECI. It proved to be a litmus test, says EC

16:38 pm: Voter turnout in Bihar was 57.37 per cent, says EC

16:37 pm: Our tributes to the COVID warriors, doctors, paramedics, nurses, researchers, scientists and all our officials on election duty who are located on the frontline, says EC

16:35 pm: Bihar Polls a watershed moment in history of India, says EC

16:34 pm: Concept of new year symbolises hope, says Election Commission; thanks COVID warriors

16:30 pm: Election Commission begins his presser

16:21 pm: The Election Commission will shortly address the media to announce the poll schedule for 5 states.

15:51 pm: Earlier, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, while addressing a rally in Assam, had said that the EC will likely announce the poll schedule in first week of March.

15:08 pm: Meanwhile, Union Minister Smriti Irani on Friday attacked the TMC government in West Bengal under its rule and said that Mamata Banerjee will surely lose the upcoming polls in the state.

"We're grateful that people of Bengal are coming out in large numbers to support us either in yatra or in programs that are being done by our senior leadership, that is indicative that this time in West Bengal you'll see the Lotus blossom," she said.

14:50 pm: Meanwhile, President's Rule has been imposed in Puducherry and the assembly kept under suspended animation after the V Narayanasamy-led Congress government resigned earlier this week ahead of a vote of confidence.

14:45 pm: The terms of legislative assemblies of four states -- Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala and West Bengal -- are coming to an end in May and June.

14:40 pm: Also Read -- Election Commission to announce poll dates for WB, Kerala, Puducherry, TN and Assam at 4:30 pm today

14:35 pm: This will be the second major polls after Bihar Assembly Elections 2021 that will be held in India following the COVID-19 pandemic.

14:30 pm: The Election Commission will today announce the poll schedule for five states at 4.30 pm.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma