New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The Narendra Modi government underwent a major reshuffle on Wednesday as induction of 43 new faces into the Union Cabinet took place. The newly inducted ministers have started taking charge of their new offices from Thursday morning and they are also scheduled to meet BJP president JP Nadda later in the day. The induction of new ministers also resulted in 12 resignations including 4 high-profile resignations of Law and IT Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, I&B Minister Prakash Javadekar, Health Minister Harsh Vardhan and Union Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank.

PM Modi's new cabinet will also have fresh female faces emphasising the representation of all sections of the society including gender, caste etc. Earlier, when the cabinet took oath in 2019, it was criticised for scanty representation of women with only three cabinet ministers and 3 ministers of state. However, Narendra Modi's new council of ministers in the second term will have 7 women ministers.

The seven women MPs who took oath as union ministers on Wednesday include Anupriya Patel, Shobha Karandlaje, Darshana Vikram Jardosh, Meenakshi Lekhi, Annpurna Devi, Pratima Bhoumik and Bharati Pravin Pawar.

List of women leaders were inducted in the Modi cabinet on Wednesday:

Anupriya Patel was the first woman to take oath as Union Minister. She was elected to the lower house from Mirzapur in 2019 as Union Minister of State for Health in the first term of the Modi government. This is her second term as an MP in the cabinet.

Shobha Karandlaje has served as Cabinet Minister in the Karnataka government. She is Lok Sabha MP from Karnataka's Udupi Chikmagalur. Her portfolios including Food and Civil Supplies, Power, Rural Development and Panchayati Raj. This is her second term as MP.

Meenakshi Lekhi has also been elected twice from the New Delhi parliamentary constituency as BJP MP. She is also a Supreme Court lawyer, social worker and has been a member of the New Delhi Municipal Corporation.

Darshana Vikram Jardosh is a BJP MP from Surat. This is her third term as MP. Earlier, she has been corporator of Surat Municipal Corporation and a Member of the Gujarat Social Welfare Board.

Annpurna Devi is a first-time Lok Sabha MP from Jharkhand's Kodarma. Her portfolios includes irrigation, and women and child welfare.

Pratima Bhoumik is a BJP MP for Tripura West. This is her first term in the Lok Sabha.

Dr Bharati Pravin Pawar is elected from Dindori in Maharashtra. She is also serving first time as MP. Before joining public life she was a medical practitioner.

Other women ministers in the Modi Cabinet:

Nirmala Sitharaman is one of the strongest women ministers in the Modi Cabinet, who holds the Ministry of Finance and Ministry of Corporate Affairs.

Smriti Irani had previously held the Ministry of Education portfolio. Currently, she is the Ministry of Women and Child Development of India.

Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti holds the Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution and Ministry of Rural Development.

Renuka Singh Saruta holds the Ministry of Tribal Affairs.

Currently, the Modi government has 11 women ministers in the cabinet. Earlier, Sushma Swaraj (Minister of External Affairs) and Harsimrat Kaur Badal (Minister of Food Processing Industries) were also a part of the Modi government. However, Swaraj was left out of the NDA-II due to health issues. She later passed away in August 2019. On the other hand, Badal had resigned from her position after the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) pulled out from the NDA alliance amid differences over the farm laws. 

Posted By: Sugandha Jha