New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The Centre on Saturday extended the coronavirus-induced lockdown till June 30 in containment zones across the country and said that the restrictions will be eased across the country in different phases. Termed as ‘Unlock 1.0’, the central government said that the reopening of the current phase has an economic focus the guidelines are based on extensive consultations held with states and union territories (UTs).

As the Centre extends lockdown till June 30 in containment zones, here are the ten key takeaways from the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) guidelines:

Also Read | Lockdown 5.0: Here's what remains open and what's closed across India as Centre extends lockdown till June 8

  1. The Central government in its new guidelines said that reopening of prohibited activities in areas outside containment zones will be done in three phases from June 1.   
  2. It, however, said that states and union territories (UTs), based on their assessment of the situation, may prohibit certain activities outside the Containment zones, or impose such restrictions as deemed necessary.
  3. The Home Ministry further said that containment zones will be demarcated by the district authorities after taking into consideration the guidelines by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare.
  4. The MHA said that places of worship hotels, restaurants, shopping malls and other hospitality services will be opened from June 8.
  5. It, however, said that a decision on reopening of international air travel, metro trains, cinema halls, gyms, political gatherings will be done after assessing the coronavirus situation in the country.
  6. As per the guidelines, schools, colleges, educational, training, coaching institutions will be opened after consultations with states and union territories (UTs).
  7. The Centre also revised the timings for night curfew and said that movement of individuals will now be prohibited across the country from 9 pm and 5 am.
  8. The guidelines further said that movement of domestic flights, special trains and Shramik trains will continue as per Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) issued.
  9. There shall be no restriction on inter-State and intra-State movement of persons and goods. No separate permission/ approval/ e-permit will be required for such movements, the Home Ministry guidelines said.
  10. However, the Home Ministry said that states and union territories (UTs) will have the power to regulate movement after prior publicity of information and the procedures to be followed.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma