Sarojini Naidu Birth Anniversary: Here's why National Women's Day is observed on birth anniversary of 'Bharat Kokila'

Sarojini Naidu Birth Anniversary: To honour Sarojini Naidu, India celebrates her birth anniversary as National Women's Day of India every year on February 13.

By Niharika Sanjeeiv
Updated: Sat, 13 Feb 2021 07:35 AM IST
Minute Read
Sarojini Naidu Birth Anniversary: Here's why National Women's Day is observed on birth anniversary of 'Bharat Kokila'
file pic

New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Sarojini Naidu, a political activist and a well-known poet, is an inspiration for women across India. Commonly known as 'Nightingale of India', Sarojini Naidu was the first woman Governor of India. Despite numerous challenges, Sarojini Naidu became and inspiration as she actively participated in India's freedom movement against the British government. Thus to honour her works, her birth anniversary is celebrated as National Women's Day in India. This year, we will be celebrating 142nd birth anniversary of 'Bharat Kokila'.

About Sarojini Naidu

Sarojini Naidu was February 13, 1879, in a Bengali family in Hyderabad. She did her education in Chennai and went to London and Cambridge for higher studies. In 1925, Naidu was appointed resident of the Indian National Congress. While, in 1947, she was appointed as the governor of the United Province, now known as Uttar Pradesh, making her India's first woman governor.

Apart from being an Indian political activist, Sarojini was also an acclaimed poet and has written several heartwarming poems on themes such as romance, patriotism and tragedy. Naidu's poems were admired by prominent Indian politicians like Gopal Krishna Gokhale among others. Her poetry was widely read by children and others in India.

Sarojini Naidu during Indian Freedom Struggle

Naidu has gone to jail with Mahatama Gandhi several times while participating in the Indian freedom struggle. In 1942, during Gandhi's Quit India Movement, the British government imprisoned Sarojini Naidu for almost 21 months.

Literary works of Sarojini Naidu

  • Golden Threshold (1905) was her first collection of poems
  • The Bird of Time: Songs of Life, Death, and the Spring (1912)
  • The Broken Wing: Songs of Love, Death and the Spring, including "The Gift of India" (1917)
  • Muhammad Jinnah: An Ambassador of Unity (1919)
  • The Sceptred Flute: Songs of India, Allahabad: Kitabistan (1943)
  • The Indian Weavers(1971)
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.