New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: India is celebrating its 71st Republic Day today. Every year, for the Republic Day celebrations, the Ministry of Defence receives tableau proposals from states, Union Territories, central ministries and departments to participate in the Republic Day parade in the national capital. For this year’s celebration, the defence ministry has selected sixteen states, Union Territories and six Central Ministries, who will be participating in the Republic Day Parade at Rajpath in New Delhi.

Also Read: Republic Day 2020: A look at some interesting facts that you didn't know about this day

The states and departments included in the list are Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, and Uttar Pradesh.  

Along with these states, the Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade, Department of Drinking Water and Sanitation, Department of Financial Services, NDRF Ministry of Home Affairs, CPWD Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, and Ministry of Shipping are also selected for the Republic Day 2020 parade.

Apart from these states, UTs and central ministries, the Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT), Ministry of Commerce and Industry will showcase a tableau on Startup India in this year's Republic Day Parade.

The tableau on the theme 'Startups: Reach for the Sky' will showcase stages of the lifecycle of a startup and the all-round support provided by the government in this journey. The tableau will depict how ideas come to life and how the innovations that emerge positively affect the lives of the citizens of India, read a statement.

Startup India is a flagship initiative of the Government of India, intended to build a strong ecosystem to nurture innovation, drive sustainable economic growth and generate large scale employment opportunities.

Also Read: Republic Day 2020: A glimpse of rehearsals of Gantantra Diwas parade in Rajpath

How the Defence Ministry shortlist these tableaux?

The selection process for the tableaux is carried out by the Ministry of Defence. To shortlist the tableaux from the proposals, the defence ministry first sets up an expert committee with renowned people from various fields of arts. The expert committee consists of prominent persons in the field of art, culture, painting, sculpture, music, architecture, choreography, etc.

After the tableaux proposals are received from various states and organizations, they are evaluated in a series of meetings of the expert committee.

During the first phase, the sketches or designs of the proposed tableaux were examined and the experts give suggestions to carry out modifications in the design. Once the design was finalised by the committee, the participants were asked to come up with 3D models of the tableaux. However, this does not guarantee that they have been selected for the parade.

Also Read: Happy Republic Day 2020: Wishes, messages, SMS, quotes, images, Facebook and WhatsApp status to share with family and friends

The committee thereafter examines the 3D models of the tableaux and select the final list for the Republic Day parade, after scrutinising the 3D models. Not more than one tableau from an organisation is selected for the parade by the expert committee.  

Posted By: Talib Khan