New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Rajeev Kumar on Tuesday assumed charge as the new Election Commissioner of India. Rajeev Kumar assumed his office with Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora and Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra. 

Following the resignation of Ashok Lavasa, President Ram Nath Kovind on August 21 appointed Kumar as the new Election Commissioner. Lavasa last month resigned as Election Commissioner to join the Asian Development Bank as its Vice President. 

The legislative department of Ministry of Law and Justice had issued a gazette notification.

"In pursuance of clause (2) of Article 324 of the Constitution, the President is pleased to appoint Rajiv Kumar, IAS(Retd.) (JH:1984) as the Election Commissioner with effect from the date he assumes the office vice Ashok Lavasa, Election Commissioner who has resigned with effect from 31 August 2020."

Rajeev Kumar, who retired as a finance secretary in April this year, was appointed as the Chairman of Public Enterprises Selection Board (PESB) for a period of three years. Kumar had an experience of over 30 years in public policy and administration.

Rajeev Kumar, a 1984 batch IAS officer of the Jharkhand cadre, holds BSc and LLB degrees, along with Masters in Public Policy and Sustainability. He was also appointed as the secretary in the Department of Financial Services in September 2017 and is credited to play the key role in the merger of 10 public sector banks into four.

“He has keen commitment to use of technology applications and to bring about amendments in extant policy regime towards greater transparency, deliver of services to citizens directly, eliminating intermediaries,” EC’s press statement reads. As Chief Election Commissioner, Kumar is expected to oversee the next general election in 2024.

Posted By: Talib Khan