Mumbai | Jagran News Desk: The Uddhav Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Aghadi government in Maharashtra on Thursday announced a five-level unlock plan to uplift the lockdown that was imposed in the state in April this year amid the unprecedented hike in COVID-19 cases.

"We have prepared a 5-level unlock plan for the State on the basis of positivity rate and status of occupancy of oxygen beds in the districts. Districts with the lowest positivity rate will have no restrictions," news agency ANI quoted Maharashtra Minister Vijay Wadettiwar as saying.

As per the unlock guidelines, lockdown will completely be lifted in 18 districts that have been categorised as Level 1. However, restrictions will continue in cities and districts classified as Level 2. Mumbai, one of the worst-hit cities in India, falls under Level 2.

The relaxations comes after Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray and Health Minister Rajesh Tope hinted at uplifting the restrictions after Maharashtra saw a dip in its daily COVID-19 cases. However, the two had warned against any kind of 'laxity' and said that restrictions will be lifed in a "phased manner" from June and only in those districts and cities where the positivity rate is less than a particular level.

Following is the level-wise relaxation guidelines issued by the Maharashtra government:

Level 1:

Cities and districts where the COVID-19 positivity rate is less than five per cent and the occupancy of oxygen bed is less than 25 per cent are categorised under Level 1. Here all kinds of activities will be allowed and restaurants, malls, shops, local trains, public places, tourist destinations, public, private offices, theatres, gym, salon and beauty parlours can operate.

The 18 districts where restrictions will be lifted are Aurangabad, Bhandara, Buldhana, Chandrapur, Dhule, Gadchiroli, Gondia, Jalgaon, Jalna, Latur, Nagpur, Nanded, Nashik, Yavatmal, Washim, Wardha, Parbhani and Thane.

Level 2:

Here, section 144 of the IPC would be applicable in districts like Mumbai, Ahmednagar, Amaravati and Hingoli. As per the guidelines, salons, gyms and beauty parlours can operate with 50 per cent of their capacity. There will be a restriction on the gathering of people in marriages and wedding ceremonies. The local train service will also remain shut for now.

Level 3:

The cities and districts in level 3 are Ratnagiri, Beed, Kolhapur, Akola, Sangli, Sindhudurg, Satara and Usmanabad.

Level 4:

Only Pune and Raigad are categorised under Level 4.

Level 5:

In cities and districts categorised as Level 5, people would need an e-pass to travel. However, people won't need a negative RTPCR report for intra-state travel.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma