New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The fourth phase of lockdown - termed as Lockdown 4.0 by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, comes into effect from today till May 31. The National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) on Sunday directed the states and UTs to continue the lockdown for two more weeks while the Home Ministry issued guidelines regarding the "new rules" for the extended phase of lockdown. 

The MHA has asked states to decide on which districts will fall under Red, Orange and Green zones. As per the guidelines, the district authorities will demarcate 'containment' and 'buffer' areas within Red and Orange zones.  

Prime Minister Narendra Modi last Tuesday said that the fourth phase of the lockdown, which he described as "lockdown-4", will have completely different contours and will have a new set of rules.

Here is which services will be allowed and what not during the extended lockdown: 

  • All domestic, international air travel of passengers, except domestic air ambulance, remains prohibited till May 31. Metrol rail services will also remain suspended across the country in the fourth phase of lockdown. 
  • Schools, colleges and all other educational institutions will also remain closed across the country, as they have been since March 25, till May 31. 
  • Hotels, restaurants, cinema halls, shopping malls, swimming pools and gyms will also remain closed till May 31. 
  • All social, political, religious functions, and places of worship to remain shut till May 31. 
  • Movement of people will remain strictly prohibited across country from 7 pm to 7 am, except for essential activities. 
  • Inter-state movement of passenger vehicles and buses to be allowed with mutual consent of states.
  • People above 65 years of age, persons with co-morbidities, pregnant women, children aged below 10 shall stay at home.
  • All shops, except those in containment zones and malls, will be allowed to open from Monday with staggered timings during lockdown 4.0. All shops shall have to ensure six feet distance among customers; not allow more than five people at one time.
  • Sports complexes and stadiums will be permitted to open; however, spectators will not be allowed.

The country has been under lockdown since March 25 and the third phase ends on May 17. On March 24, the prime minister had announced a 21-day nationwide lockdown. On April 14, he extended the lockdown period till May 3, which was further continued by the MHA for two weeks. 

Posted By: Abhinav Gupta