New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: With the lockdown 3.0 ending on Sunday, the central government has identified 30 municipal areas in the country which contribute for almost 80 per cent of coronavirus in India. Most of these cities have a number of areas which are still containment zones or fall under red zones.

These 30 cities are from the states of Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Gujarat, Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Punjab and Odisha.

In a meeting, that included Health Secretary Preeti Sudan and Rajesh Bhushan, it was decided that these 30 cities will have the maximum restrictions.

Also Read | Lockdown 4.0 Updates: MHA to issue guidelines today; here's what may open, what remain closed from May 18

In a statement, the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare said that measures taken by the officials and the staff of the municipal corporations for the management of COVID-19 cases were reviewed during the meeting which was also informed that fresh guidelines on management of COVID-19 in urban settlements are being shared.

Following is the full list of 30 cities that will have maximum restrictions in the fourth phase of lockdown:

1. Brihanmumbai

2. Thane

3. Pune

4. Solapur

5. Nashik

6. Aurangabad

7. Palghar

8. Greater Chennai

9. Tiruvallur

10. Cuddalore

11. Chengalpattu

12. Ariyalur

13. Villupuram

14. Ahmedabad

15. Surat

16. Vadodara

17. Jaipur

18. Jodhpur

19. Udaipur

20. Kolkata

21. Howrah

22. Indore

23. Bhopal

24. Agra

25. Meerut

26. Greater Hyderabad

27. Kurnool

28. Amritsar

29. Berhampur

30. Delhi

During the meeting, a presentation was made on the present status of COVID-19 infections in the districts while highlighting the high risk factors, indices such as confirmation rate, fatality rate, doubling rate, tests per million etc. the Health Ministry said.

It was highlighted that in general the geographic area of containment zones to be defined based on factors like mapping of cases and contacts, geographical dispersion of cases and contacts, area with well demarcated perimeter and enforceability, the statement said.

Also Read | Lockdown 4.0 News: From allowing inter-district travel to resumption of economic activities: What states are expecting post May 17

Municipal Corporations, residential colony/mohallas/municipal wards or police-station area/municipal zones/towns etc., can be designated as containment zones, as appropriate, it said.

The officials were advised that the area should be appropriately defined by the district administration or local urban body with technical inputs from local level, the statement said.

It was advised that all health service providers need to be provided with adequate protective gear and communication must focus against the stigmatization of these frontline health workers, the statement read.

(With PTI inputs)

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma