New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday addressed the nation on the coronavirus pandemic and announced that the Lockdown 4.0, which will come into effect after May 17, the day when the third phase of nation-wide lockdown ends, will be very different from the previous ones and will come with new set of rules and new relaxations.

Asserting that the coronavirus will remain with us for a very long time, PM Modi said that we will not let it affect us and continue to fight against the pandemic, which has afflicted more than 70,000 people in the country and claimed lives of more that 2,200.

Also Read: PM Modi announces 'aatma-nirbhar Bharat' economic package of Rs 20 lakh crore, says 'Lockdown 4.0' will be different

“Scientists say that Corona will be a part of our lives for a very long time. But we can't let our lives remain confined around Corona. We will wear masks and maintain social distancing but we will not let it affect us. So lockdown 4 will be in a new form with new rules”, PM Modi said as reported by news agency ANI.  

However, PM Modi stopped short of spelling details of the fourth phase of coronavirus-induced lockdown, to contain the spread of the pathogen and said that the citizens will get to know about it before May 18 or the end of Lockdown 3.0 in place. 

PM Modi also said that the Lockdown 4.0 will be based on the suggestions given by the states by May 15, which he had asked for during the marathon meeting with the chief ministers on Monday. 

"Based on the suggestions by States, information related to lockdown four will be given to you before May 18. We will fight COVID-19. We will move forward," the Prime Minister said.

The Prime Minister on Monday held a video conference meeting with Chief Ministers of all states to discuss the road ahead in India's fight against COVID-19 and noted that he was of the firm view that measures needed during the third phase of lockdown will not be needed in the fourth phase. The phase three of the lockdown is coming to an end on May 17.

Relaxing curbs on travel, the Indian Railways today started 15 selected trains across the country with on Rajdhani routes. These trains will be run as special trains, including AC coaches, from New Delhi Station connecting Dibrugarh, Agartala, Howrah, Patna, Bilaspur, Ranchi, Bhubaneswar, Secunderabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Thiruvananthapuram, Madgaon, Mumbai Central, Ahmedabad and Jammu Tawi.

Also Read: 'India in a state of war against coronavirus': Top quotes from PM Modi's speech

The Indian Railways said that the passengers will only be able to book tickets at the official website of the IRCTC as all ticket booking counters at stations will remain closed. The online ticket booking began at 6 pm on Monday. 

Posted By: Talib Khan