New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The nation-wide lockdown imposed to contain the coronavirus pandemic has been extended by the government on Friday for two more weeks, with effect from May 4. The third phase of the lockdown will end on May 17, 2020.

The decision to extend the lockdown again was taken in view of the spike in cases from across the country. The deadly coronavirus has so far infected more than 37,000 people in the country and has claimed lives of more than 1,200.

In its order to extend the lockdown, the government has classified entire country into three zones, ‘Red (Hotspot Districts), Orange (Low Risk Districts) and Green (Districts with no active cases)’. The classification of districts is done by the risks profiling of the districts of the country.

Among the states, Maharashtra remains to be the worst-hit state with more than 11,500 cases and 485 deaths so far. In view of the rising cases in the state, the government has classified 14 districts as Red zones, while 16 districts have been placed under Orange Zones. The number of district in Green Zones are 6 in Maharashtra.  

Here’s the list of Red, Orange and Green Zones in Maharashtra:


Red Zones:

Mumbai - Maharashtra - Red Zone

Pune - Maharashtra - Red Zone

Thane - Maharashtra - Red Zone

Nashik - Maharashtra - Red Zone

Palghar - Maharashtra - Red Zone

Nagpur - Maharashtra - Red Zone

Solapur - Maharashtra - Red Zone

Yavatmal - Maharashtra - Red Zone

Aurangabad - Maharashtra - Red Zone

Satara - Maharashtra - Red Zone

Dhule - Maharashtra - Red Zone

Akola - Maharashtra - Red Zone

Jalgaon - Maharashtra - Red Zone

Mumbai Suburban - Maharashtra - Red Zone

Orange Zones:

Raigad - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Ahmednagar - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Amravati - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Buldhana - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Nandurbar - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Kolhapur - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Hingoli - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Ratnagiri - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Jalna - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Nanded - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Chandrapur - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Parbhani - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Sangli - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Latur - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Bhandara - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Beed - Maharashtra - Orange Zone

Green Zones:

Osmanabad - Maharashtra - Green Zone

Washim - Maharashtra - Green Zone

Sindhudurg - Maharashtra - Green Zone

Gandia - Maharashtra - Green Zone

Gadchiroli - Maharashtra - Green Zone


Wardha - Maharashtra - Green Zone

Posted By: Talib Khan