Srinagar | Jagran News Desk: Three Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) personnel were martyred  on Monday after terrorists attacked a patrol party in Jammu and Kashmir's Handwara, officials said while adding that one of the attackers has also been killed. 

The attackers opened fire on a CPRF naka party at Wangam-Qaziabad in Kralgund area of the district, the officials said.

The security forces have cordoned off and additional forces rushed there to track down the assailants, the officials added.

This comes a day after the security forces lost five personnel, including a colonel and a major, in an encounter with terrorists at Handwara.

The encounter at Handwara in Kupwara district on Sunday claimed the lives of Colonel Ashutosh Sharma, Major Anuj Sood, Naik Rajesh and Lance Naik Dinesh, all from the Brigade of the Guards regiment, and at present part of the 21 Rashtriya Rifles and deployed to counter terrorism in the hinterland.

Giving details of the encounter at a village in Rajwar forests, officials said the two holed-up terrorists, who were eliminated in the encounter, included commander of banned Lashker-e-Taiba Haider, a Pakistani national who has been active in the north Kashmir area. The identity of the other was yet to be ascertained.

They had held some civilians hostage, the officials said, adding that a couple of terrorists could have managed to give security forces the slip under the cover of darkness as well. A hunt has been launched in the entire area.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi also expressed grief over the death of the five security personnel, who were killed in an encounter in Jammu and Kashmir's Handwara and said that their "valour and sacrifice will never be forgotten".   

"Tributes to our courageous soldiers and security personnel martyred in Handwara. Their valour and sacrifice will never be forgotten. They served the nation with utmost dedication and worked tirelessly to protect our citizens. Condolences to their families and friends," PM Modi tweeted.

(With agency inputs)

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma