New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The Indian Railways on Thursday announced that it has decided to cancel all tickets for regular passenger trains that were booked for travel till June 30. The Railways, however, said that it will provide refund for it.

In a statement, the Indian Railways said that the tickets, which are to be cancelled, were booked during the lockdown period when it was allowing bookings for journeys in June.

The Railways, however, stated that "Shramik Special" trains which started from May 1 and the special trains which started operations from May 12 will continue to operate.

In another statement, the Railways said that the IRCTC has started keeping records of the destination address of all passengers to help facilitate contact tracing in case the dreadful coronavirus are detected among them later.

Also Read | As Railways resumes passenger train services from today, here are answers to top ten FAQs

"With effect from May 13, IRCTC taking destination address of all passengers booking tickets. This will help in contact tracing, if required later," the Indian Railways said.

The Indian Railways had suspended its regular mail, express, passenger and suburban services from March 25 after the government imposed a nationwide lockdown in the country to control the spread of the dreadful coronavirus. 

However, on May 1, the Indian Railways started the 'Shramik Special' trains to ferry the migrant workers who were left stranded across different parts of the country because of the lockdown.

Later on May 12, the Indian Railways resumed its services, initially with a pair of 15 special trains. It said that these special trains will run from New Delhi Station connecting Dibrugarh, Agartala, Howrah, Patna, Bilaspur, Ranchi, Bhubaneswar, Secunderabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Thiruvananthapuram, Madgaon, Mumbai Central, Ahmedabad and Jammu Tawi.

As per the Railways, more than two lakh passengers have booked tickets worth Rs 45.30 crore for travel in the next seven days.

The governmand had later issued an SOP for these 15 special trains, saying that only asymptomatic passengers with confirmed tickets will be allowed to travel.

"Only those passengers with confirmed e-tickets shall be allowed to enter the station. The movement of the passenger(s) as well as the driver of the vehicle transporting the passenger(s) to and fro the railway station shall be allowed on the basis of the confirmed e-ticket," the government said. 

Posted By: James Kuanal