New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: With the country entering the last week of the coronavirus lockdown, the Indian Railways announced that it will 'partially' resume passenger train services from Tuesday while the online ticket booking will begin at 4 pm from today. In a statement, the Indian Railways said that it will begin services on 15 Rajdhani routes, adding that the fare would be equivalent to that of the super-fast train.

"Railways plans to gradually restart passenger train operations from 12th May, 2020, initially with 15 pairs of special trains connecting New Delhi with major stations across India. Booking in these trains will start at 4 pm on 11th May," said Railways Minister Piyush Goyal in a tweet.

Here are the LIVE updates on Indian Railways:

18:55 pm: Howrah-New Delhi railway station 3AC tickets booked fully in less than 10 minutes: Railway official 

18:00 pm: Booking begins

17:13 pm: Data pertaining to special trains is being fed in the IRCTC website. Train ticket bookings will be available in a short while. Please wait. Inconvenience is regretted, the Ministry of Railways said.

17:12 pm: After reports that the IRCTC website crashed, the Railways issued a clarification, saying data is being uploaded.

17:02 pm: The IRCTC website had reportedly crashed.

16:57 pm: Booking for train tickets to begin at 6:00 PM: Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation (IRCTC)

15:34 pm: 

13:59 pm: These special trains will have a stoppage. For instance, the Howrah to Delhi train will have a stoppage at Asansol Junction, Dhanbad Junction, Paransnath, Gaya Junction, Pt. Dindayal Upadhyaya Junction, Prayagraj Junction and Kanpur Central.

12:45 pm: 'Shramik Special' trains to run on full capacity, will have three stoppages in destination state: Indian Railways

12:34 pm: The tickets would have details of the 'dos and don'ts' passengers need to follow -- such as arriving at the station at least an hour in advance for screening and other coronavirus protocols, mandatory use of masks and use of the Aarogya Setu mobile app.

11:47 am: Ministry of Railways modifies guidelines on movement of stranded persons by Shramik Special Trains- trains to now have up to 3 stoppages in destination state, train capacity should be equal to no. of sleeper berths on the train

10:46 am: As per officials quoted by news agency PTI, unlike Shramik Specials, in which only 54 passengers were allowed instead of the regular 72, these trains will run on full capacity, but no concession in fare is likely to be allowed.

10:30 am: The Indian Railways further said that no concession in fare is likely to be allowed.

10:25 am: As per the railways, 72 passengers will be allowed to travel in every coach of these special trains. 

10:09 am: Union Home Secretary Ajay Bhalla writes to Chief Secretaries of all the states to cooperate in receiving Shramik special trains and to facilitate the movement of stranded migrant workers.

10:08 am: "We welcome the decision of the government to cautiously start operations of inter-state passenger trains. The same modest opening should be started with road transport and air transport," says Congress' P Chidambaram

10:05 am: Limited passenger train services on 15 routes start tomorrow, online bookings start today | 8 things you need to know

9:55 am: These trains will be run as special trains from New Delhi Station connecting Dibrugarh, Agartala, Howrah, Patna, Bilaspur, Ranchi, Bhubaneswar, Secunderabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Thiruvananthapuram, Madgaon, Mumbai Central, Ahmedabad and Jammu Tawi, the Indian Railways said.

9:50 am: As per the Railways, it will start passenger train services on 15 Rajdhani routes.

9:45 am: Ticket booking counters at stations will remain closed and no counter tickets (including platform tickets) will be issued, it noted.

9:43 am: It added that the passengers will be able to book tickets only on the IRCTC website at

9:41 am: In a statement, it said that passengers will be able to book tickets online at 4 pm from today.

9:40 am: Indian Railways on Sunday evening announced that it will partially resume services of passenger trains. 

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma