New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: India will resume regular international flight operations from December 15, for the first time since the beginning of pandemic, news agency PTI reported. All countries except the United Kingdom,  Singapore, Brazil, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Finland, Bangladesh, Botswana, South Africa, China, Mauritius, New Zealand and Zimbabwe will have regular flight operations to and from India from December 15 onwards. 

Meanwhile, the news agency ANI reported that the existing air bubble flight arrangements with these fourteen countries will continue. At the same time, curbs and screening parameters will be tightened at international passenger transit points across India keeping in account the threat of new B1.1.529 variant of COVID-19, first identified in South Africa.

"This variant is reported to have a significantly high number of mutations, and thus, has serious public health implications for the country in view of recently relaxed visa restrictions and opening up of international travel," health secretary Rajesh Bhushan said in a letter to states late on Thursday.

Flights to and from ‘at risk’ countries to operate with 50 to 75 per cent capacity

The government said that the countries enlisted by Ministry of Health and Family Welfare as “at risk” and with which air bubble has been formalised will operate at 75 per cent of the pre-covid capacities. However, the flights to and from ‘at risk’ countries with which the air bubble agreement has not been formalised will operate with 50 per cent capacity.

Posted By: Mukul Sharma