Latest News

    Sabarmati Election Result 2022: Sabarmati Election Result 2022: BJP's Harshadbhai Takes Big Lead, Set To Regain Power

    Sabarmati Election Result 2022: BJP's Harshadbhai Patel, who comfortably won the 2017 elections defeating Congress, takes a big lead.

    By Anushka Vats
    Thu, 08 Dec 2022 12:50 PM (IST)

    ALL eyes are on the results of the Gujarat Assembly election 2022 as the counting of the votes has already started. Ahmedabad's Sabarmati which is one of the 93 constituencies that went to polls in the second phase of the polls.

    The seat is currently held by Harshadbhai Patel of BJP, who is also leading and has got more than 1,00,000 votes so far.

    The three key candidates standing for elections are Dr Harshadbhai Patel of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Dinesh Mahida of Indian National Congress (INC) and Jasvant Thakor from Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

    As many as 833 candidates from 61 parties were in the fray in the second phase of the Gujarat elections. Over 2.51 crore voters were eligible to exercise their franchise.

    Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel, Aam Aadmi Party's chief ministerial candidate Isudan Gadhvi and leader of Opposition in the state Assembly Sukhram Rathva were among those who cast votes on December 5.

    During the first phase of polling on December 1, Gujarat saw an overall turnout of 63.14 per cent. Voting was held in 89 constituencies in the first phase.

    Gujarat Election 2017: Sabarmati Assembly Constituency

    During 2017 Gujarat Assembly election, the BJP won the Sabarmati seat which was one of the 99 seats that led to the victory of the party.

    BJP's Arvidkumar Gandabhai Patel comfortably defeated Indian National Congress's Dr Jitubhai Patel by a great margin of 68,810 votes 2017 elections.

    Reportedly a total of 2,47,192 voters cast their votes for 11 candidates during 2017 elections.

    Nearly 96.4 per cent votes were divided into the top two candidates. While BJP's Arvidkumar Gandabhai Patel (DALAL) got 1,13,503 votes, The INC's Dr Jitubhai Patel secured 44,693 votes.

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.