Botad Election Result 2022: AAP Takes LEAD, BJP On Number 2 In Botad Assembly Constituency

Botad Election Result 2022: BJP has been winning in the Botad assembly constituency for four consecutive terms.

Botad Election Result 2022: AAP Takes LEAD, BJP On Number 2 In Botad Assembly Constituency
Botad Election Result 2022: BJP supporters at PM Narendra Modi's public meeting for the second phase of the Gujarat Assembly elections, in Ahmedabad. (Image Credits: ANI)

Counting of votes is currently underway in the Gujarat Assembly Election 2022. The results are expected to be out by this evening. According to the early trends, Aam Aadmi Party's Makwana Umeshbhai Naranbhai is leading and has so far recieved 79524 votes as of 5 PM, followed by Ghanshyambhai Pragjibhai Virani of BJP with 77049 votes. Congress' Manharbhai Nagajibhai Patel has so far secured 18775 votes.

Notably, in the second phase of the recently held Gujarat Assembly Elections 2022, more than 2 crore people casted their votes. This time, 833 candidates are in the fray fro the 93 assembly seats spread across 14 seats in the state.

Botad constituency of the Botad district is one of the most talked about contests in the assembly election this year. BJP emerged victorious in the constituency for four consecutive terms. This time, the saffron colored party has fielded Ghanshyambhai Pragjibhai Virani as their candidate for the Botad constituency. Aam Aadmi Party backed Umesh Makwana, while Congress will be represented by Manhar Patel in the elections this year. 

Botad Assembly Constituency 

Botad is an assembly segment in the Botad district of Gujarat is one among the four – Gadhada, Barvala, Ranpur – assembly segments in the district. The rural voters constituted 63.43% in the Botad constituency according to the 2011 Census, while the urban population made for 36.57% voters according to the 2011 India Census. 

During the 2022 Gujarat Assembly Election, Botad seat recorded a voter turnout of 63.53 per cent. In the 2017 assembly elections, Botad assembly seat recorded 68.31% voter turnout.

Botad Candidate List

BJP: Ghanshyambhai Pragjibhai Virani

AAP: Umesh Makwana

Congress: Manhar Patel

Botad Assembly Election 2022

The Bharatiya Janata Party has been winning the Botad seat consecutively since 2002. The ruling party this time backed Ghanshyambhai Pragjibhai Virani, while Aam Aadmi Party’s candidate for this election is Umesh Makwana. The Congress will be backing Manhar Patel in the assembly elections from Botad this time.

Botad Assembly Election 2017

In the Gujarat Legislative Assembly Election held in 2017, 25 candidates were in the fray from the Botad constituency. Botad was also amongst the 99 seats won by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). BJP’s Saurabh Patel narrowly won the elections over Indian National Congress's Kalathiya Dhirajlal Madhavjibhai by a margin of just 906 votes.

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.