Pune | Jagran News Desk: Day after the Maharashtra government imposed a ten-day lockdown in Pune amid the ongoing coronavirus crisis, the local administration has identified 20 areas in the city as containment zones or coronavirus hotspots.

According to the order issued by haveli sub-divisional officer Sachin Baravkar 20 villages under gram panchayats bordering Pune and Pimpri-Chinchwad limits have been declared as containment zones.

Here’s the complete list of containment zones in the Pune district:

  1. Manjri
  2. Khanapur
  3. Kondhwe-Dhavade
  4. Dehu
  5. Gujar
  6. Nimbalkarwadi
  7. Shevalewadi
  8. Wagholi
  9. Kadamwakvasti
  10. Narhe
  11. Urali Kanchan
  12. Wadali wadi
  13. Khadakwasla
  14. Kirkitwadi
  15. Pisoli
  16. Bhilarewadi
  17. Kunjirwadi
  18. Loni Kalbhor
  19. Nanded
  20. Manjri

Coronavirus in Pune:

The Maharashtra government on Friday announced a ten-day lockdown in the Pune district from July 13 to July 23 in a bid to stem the spread of COVID-19. According to the state government, the lockdown will be imposed in Pune, Pimpri-Chinchwad and some parts of Rural Pune in wake of the rising coronavirus cases.

The decision to enforce the lockdown was taken in a meeting chaired by Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister and district guardian minister Ajit Pawar here, said the officials while adding that essential services will continue to be available during the shutdown.

"Complete lockdown announced for Pune, Pimpri-Chinchwad and some parts of Rural Pune from 13th July to 23rd July. Only shops related to essential services like dairy and medical stores and hospitals will remain open," Pune Divisional commissioner Deepak Mhaisekar was quoted as saying by news agency ANI.

The novel coronavirus, which originated in mainland China, has affected more than 35,000 and claimed the lives of over 1,000 people in Pune so far. Pune is one the worst affected districts by the highly contagious coronavirus in India.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma