New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Verdict in the highly vexatious matter of Ram Janam Bhumi and Babri Masjid title dispute case was pronounced by the CJI Ranjan Gogoi-led 5-judge constitution bench of Supreme Court today. The bench commenced the ruling at 10:30 AM, after reserving its order on October 16. The bench in its verdict states that "the 2.77-acre disputed land was handed over to the Hindu parties for the construction of Ram Temple, while an alternate 5-care land will be given to the Muslims to construct a Mosque in Ayodhya".

Keeping in view the sensitivity of the matter, the government has already beefed up the security across the Uttar Pradesh and has also beefed the security of the five judges involved. The authorities have imposed Section 144 of CrPC in the Ayodhya district, barring gathering of four or more people.

Catch all the LIVE Updates of the Verdict here

As the Ayodhya case nears its conclusion, here is a look at the five judges who are going to deliver the ruling.

CJI Ranjan Gogoi:

The Chief Justice of India Ranjan Gogoi -- who belongs to Assam -- was appointed as the CJI in October 2018. With his appointment, he became the first person from the Northeast to be appointed on the country’s top judicial position. He started practicing in 1978 at the Guwahati High Court and later became a permanent judge in 2001. Later in his career, he was transferred to Haryana and Punjab High Courts, and became the Chief Justice there, before being elevated to the Supreme Court in 2012.

CJI Gogoi has heard many landmarks and sensitive matters throughout his career, including the NRC and the Ayodhya case. He will be demitting his office on November 17 and indicated that he will deliver the verdict in this case before his retirement. On Friday, he met top officials of Uttar Pradesh to review the security arrangements across the state ahead of the ruling.

Also Read: Ayodhya Verdict: Temple at disputed site, alternate land for Muslims | SC ruling explained in 10 points

Chief Justice designate Sharad Arvind Bobde:

The 63-year-old SC judge SA Bobde joined the Bombay High Court in 2000, before being appointed as the Chief Justice of Madhya Pradesh High Court in 2002. His name was given by the CJI as his successor. He will assume the office on November 17 after the CJI retires. The Maharashtra-born judge, who was elevated to the Supreme Court in April 2013, will be the top judge of the country for 18 months before his tenure expires. 

Justice DY Chandrachud

Justice DY Chandrachud was appointed as a Supreme Court judge in 2016 by the then President Pranab Mukherjee. He is the son of YV Chandrachud, the longest-serving Chief Justice of India. He graduated from Harvard University. Justice Chandrachud is known to have overturned several rulings that were believed to have turned obsolete with the passage of time. Some such verdicts, including those on the adultery law and the right to privacy, were handed down from his father himself.

Justice Ashok Bhushan

Appointed as a Supreme Court judge in 2016, he started his career in 1979 as a lawyer in Allahabad High Court before being elevated to the post of judge in 2001. He was transferred to the Kerala High Court in July 2014, and took charge as its Acting Chief Justice a few months later. He was appointed as the Chief Justice of the court in March 2015.

Also Read: Ayodhya Case | ‘Ruling shouldn’t be a matter of win or loss’: PM Modi appeals for peace ahead historic verdict

Justice Abdul Nazeer

He started his career in 1983 and practiced till 2003 in Karnataka High Court. He was elevated to the Supreme Court on February 17, 2017. He made headlines when he ruled along with then CJI Khehar that the practice of triple Talaq is sinful theology, the Supreme court cannot interfere in personal laws. 

Posted By: Talib Khan