Lucknow | Jagran Politics Desk: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is likely to sweep the Zila Panchayat election in Uttar Pradesh as its candidates already won crucial seats, including the Rae Bareli seat. In Rampur and Hathras too, the BJP has been able to deliver a blow to Samajwadi Party (SP), showing its might ahead of the crucial assembly election in Uttar Pradesh next year.  

The Zila Panchayat elections are importing for both the ruling BJP and the opposition parties ahead of the Uttar Pradesh assembly election 2022. The BJP had failed miserably in the four-phase panchayat polls that concluded in May and would hope to reclaim the lost ground in the state ahead of next year's assembly election.

Here are the LIVE Updates from Uttar Pradesh Zila Panchayat Election 2021:

16:50 pm: BJP's Neeraj Rani has become the District Panchayat President in Kanpur Dehat.

16:35 pm: In Kanpur, Swapnil Varun won by 20 votes against SP's Raju Diwakar.

16:30 pm: Naresh Aggarwal has won in Hardoi. For the District Panchayat President post, BJP's Premavati defeated SP's Munni Devi Gautam.

16:20 pm: In Hathras, Seema Upadhyay has won.

16:15 pm: In Rampur, BJP's Khyaliram Lodhi has defeated SP's Nasreen Jahan.

16:05 pm: BJP candidate Ranjana Chaudhary has won in Rae Bareli, beating Arti Singh by 30 votes.

16:00 pm: In Jaunpur, BSP candidate Shrikala Singh has won.

15:29 pm: Counting of votes is underway.

14:52 pm: The Counting of votes will begin shortly. 

14:19 pm: The CM has crossed all limits in rigging the district panchayat chairperson elections. His undemocratic conduct has posed a threat to the constitutional institutions in the state, said Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav earlier.

Hijacking the mandate, the state administration forcibly prevented candidates of Samajwadi Party and other opposition parties from filing nominations, he added.

12:33 pm: Recap: The four-phase panchayat polls concluded in Uttar Pradesh in May this year. However, the BJP had failed to perform as per the expectations.

11:37 am: Recap: Zila panchayat chairpersons are elected from among the elected members of zila panchayats of various districts.

11:00 am: Just In: Polling for the second phase of Uttar Pradesh Zila Panchayat Election 2021 has begun.

10:56 am: Polling will begin shortly.

10:45 am: The SP had won only the seat of Etawah in the Zila Panchayat polls on Tuesday.

10:13 am: The election commission had declared the result for the seats of Saharanpur, Bahraich, Itawa, Chitrakoot, Agra, Gautam Buddh Nagar, Meerut, Ghaziabad, Bulandshahar, Amroha, Moradabad, Lalitpur, Jhansi, Banda, Shravasti, Balrampur, Gonda, Gorakhpur, Mau, Varanasi, Pilibhit and Shahjahanpur on Tuesday.

9:58 am: Earlier on Tuesday, the chairpersons of 22 zila panchayats in 22 districts were elected unopposed. Out of these, the BJP won 21 seats while the SP emerged victorious only on one seat.

9:40 am: Also Read -- UP Zila Panchayat Elections 2021: 53 seats to go to polls on Saturday; here's what to expect

9:21 am: The election commission has said that the counting of votes will be held on the same day after 3 pm.

9:15 am: The polling for Zila Panchayat chairman posts in 53 districts will begin at 11 am and continue till 3 pm.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma