New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: At the age of 21 years, Maneka Pathak from Pindra block in Varanasi district became the youngest candidate to win the post of Gram Pradhan (village head). She became the Pradhan of Odar village in Varanasi district's Pindra block. Pathak defeated her closes rival Anita by a margin of 124 votes. Maneka received 637 votes while Anita grabbed 513 votes during the Varanasi Gram Panchayat elections 2021. 

The voting for Varanasi district Gram Panchayat Elections 2021 was held during the second phase of UP Gram Panchayat Chunav on April 19 along with 19 other districts including Gautam Buddha Nagra, Azamgarh, Sultanpur and others. According to the Uttar Pradesh State Election Commission (SEC), over 60 per cent of voter turnout was recorded in 20 districts during the second phase polls. The Varanasi district has almost 6 candidates for the post of Pradhan (Village head) in all Gram Panchayat seats. A total of 4,336 candidates are in the fray on 694 seats for the post of Pradhan (Village Heads) in the district.

Here are the LIVE Updates of Varanasi Gram Panchayat Chunav Results 2021:

7:30 pm: List of newly elected Gram Pradhan in Varanasi

Saraiya Vishunpura - Ashna
Puranpatti - Rajesh
Babhanpura - Basant Kumar
Singhwar - Marjadi
Milkopur - Amrit Singh
Aili - Rampher
Saraiya No 2 - Malti
Dubkiyan -Sanjeev Singh
Tatepur - Geeta Devi
Muridpur - Tufani
Umarhan - Udal Patel
Madhani - Jayanarayan
Pahadia - Anita
Allopur - Sanjay
Sonbarsa - Pramod
Amarpatti - Bechu
Narpatpur - Omprakash
Chandpur - Santara Devi
Paranapur - Vijay Kumar

4:30 pm: Maneka Pathak became the village head of Odar Village in Pindra block of Varanasi district in Uttar Pradesh. 

4:00 pm: Maneka Pathak became the youngest Gram Pradhan (Village Head) by defeating her closes rival by a margin of 124 votes. 

2:00 pm: The results are likely to declared after May 3 as the counting of votes is delayed due to the COVID-19 protocols in place. 

1:00 pm: Counting process underway across 8 blocks in Varanasi district

12:30 pm: In the three-tier panchayat elections in Varanasi, a total of 10749 candidates are trying their luck. In these, the fate of 554 candidates for Zilla Panchayat member, 1327 for Gram Panchayat member, 4530 for BDC and 4338 for Gram Pradhan will be decided. 

11:30 am: All the candidates and their agents got entry into the centre only after the coronavirus test at the counting of eight blocks of Varanasi.

10:30 am: In the three-tier panchayat elections in Varanasi, a total of 10749 candidates are trying their luck. 

10:00 am: Along with this, arrangements have been made by the administration for social distancing to be followed. Kovid helpdesks, as well as ambulances and teams of doctors, are present at all the centres.

9:00 am: Counting of votes continues on 404 tables of 101 Nyaya Panchayats in a total of eight blocks.

8:15 am: The counting also started in Varanasi district, voting on which was held in the second phase of UP Panchayat Chunav on April 19. 

8:00 am: The counting of votes for the UP Panchayat Elections begins across 75 districts in the state. 

7:45 am: Arajiline block has the maximum number of 715 candidates while the least number of candidates (393) are in Harahua. 

7:25 am: The Supreme Court on Saturday allowed the UP SEC to complete the counting process with strict adherence to COVID-19 protocols

7:00 am: The counting of votes will begin at 8 am.

Arajiline block has the maximum number of 715 candidates while the least number of candidates (393) are in Harahua. In the 8 blocks across the district, Sevapuri has 87 posts on which 540 candidates are contesting while Badagaon has 80 posts, on which 528 candidates are in the fray. Other blocks include Pindara (104 posts, 679 candidates), Harahua (75 posts, 393 candidates), Cholapur (89 posts, 553 candidates), Chiraigaon (76 posts, 576 candidates), Aarjiline (117 posts, 715 candidates) and Kashi Vidyapeeth (66 posts, 420 candidates).

Posted By: Talibuddin Khan