Bhagwant Mann, Arvind Kejriwal hold massive roadshow in Amritsar after sweeping Punjab elections | WATCH

Punjab Assembly Election Results 2022: Bhagwant Mann's swearing-in ceremony will be held on March 16 at Khatkar Kalan, the native village of legendary freedom fighter Bhagat Singh. The oath-taking ceremony of 16 MLAs will be held later.

Bhagwant Mann, Arvind Kejriwal hold massive roadshow in Amritsar after sweeping Punjab elections | WATCH
Screengrab from video shared by news agency ANI

Amritsar | Jagran Politics Desk: Punjab Chief Minister-designate Bhagwant Mann and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) national convenor Arvind Kejriwal on Sunday held a massive roadshow in Amritsar, days after the party's sweeping victory in Punjab assembly elections 2022.

Before the roadshow, Mann and Kejriwal - who arrived in Amritsar on Sunday along with Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia - had paid their obeisance at the Golden Temple. The two also visted the Durgiana Temple and the Jallianwala Bagh memorial.

"We will take the blessings of Guru Sahib to fulfil the promises we made to the people of Punjab. Our national convenor Arvind Kejriwal is coming to Amritsar (for roadshow) today to thank the people," Mann told news agency ANI earlier in the day.

The AAP had swept the Punjab elections, winning 92 seats in the 117-member legislative assembly of the state. On the other hand, Congress, under Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi and Navjot Singh Sidhu, bagged just 18 seats.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which contested the elections along with Captain Amarinder's Punjab Lok Congress (PLC) and Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa's Shiromani Akali Dal (Sanyukt), bagged just two seats.

Meanwhile, Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) alliance won just four seats.

Bhagwant Mann to take oath alone on March 16

Mann's oath-taking ceremony will now be held on March 16 at the freedom fighter Bhagat Singh's native village Khatkar Kalan. The swearing-in ceremony of 16 other MLAs would be held later.

Sources, quoted by ANI, said the AAP has decided that only Mann will take oath since the swearing-in is taking place at a special and historic location. They also added that the Cabinet will shortly be expanded with the swearing-in of 16 other ministers.

Kejriwal, according to media reports, is expected to attend Mann's oath-taking ceremony.

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.