New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will take oath for the second consecutive term at 7 pm today at the Rashtrapati Bhavan -- a grand event which will see the presence of around 8,000 guests.

Top opposition leaders including Congress President Rahul Gandhi and UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, corporate honchos, film stars, chief ministers and a galaxy of leaders from BIMSTEC countries will be on hand to watch President Ram Nath Kovind administer the oath of office and secrecy to 68-year-old Modi and his ministerial colleagues.

Meanwhile, all eyes are on which ministry will be allocated to whom. While there is buzz that Amit Shah may be given a plum portfolio, there is also speculation that he might continue as BJP chief since Assembly elections in many states are due in next one year.

Stay tuned to Jangran English to catch LIVE updates on the swearing-in and oath-taking ceremony of the Narendra Modi government:

19:37 pm: Ravi Shankar Prasad, Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Thawar Chand Gehlot take oath as union ministers.

19:34 pm: 

19:31 pm: 

19:28 pm: 

18:49 pm: Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar today announced that his party JDU will not be a part of the Modi government. "They wanted only 1 person from JDU in the cabinet, so it would have been just symbolic participation. We informed them that it is ok we don't need it. It is not a big issue, we are fully in NDA and not upset at all. We are working together, no confusion," he told reporters.

19:16 pm: Narendra Modi takes oath as PM. Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari, Sadanand Gowda and Nirmala Sitharaman, Smriti Irani take oath as ministers. 

18:45 pm: 

18:30 pm: 

18:28 pm: 

17:04 pm: 

16:53 pm: Reports are rife that Amit Shah may be given a key portfolio. In that case, J P Nadda may be appointed the party chief. 

16:37 pm: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will shortly meet those who have been shortlisted for ministerial berths in the new Cabinet. 

15:28 pm: 

15:16: I want to thank the Prime Minister and party president Amit Shah for again giving me a chance of serving the country by making me a part of the government. I have been invited to the oath-taking ceremony, not been informed of the ministry yet.

14:55 pm: Those tipped to get a ministerial berth include Sadananda Gowda, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Giriraj Singh, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Thawarchand Gehlot, Dilip Ghosh, Jitendra Singh, Mansukh Mandaviya, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Arjun Ram Meghawal and Niranjan Jyoti. Sushma Swaraj is also likely to be part of the government.

14:47 pm: Among some of the new faces that are likely to be inducted include Prahlad Patel from Madhya Pradesh, Kailash Chaudhary from Rajasthan, Krishna Reddy from Telangana and Suresh Angedi from Karnataka and Raosaheb Danve from Maharashtra.

14:38 pm: 

14:36 pm: 

13:42 pm: Jok Janshakti Party chief Ram Vilas Paswan to meet PM Modi at 4:30 pm. 

13:41 pm:  

13:39 pm: 

13:28 pm: Mansukh Lal Mandaviya, BJP: Narendra Modi ji and Amit Shah ji have shown trust in me once again and invited me to be a part of this govt. I am grateful to both of them.

13:11 pm: 

12:55 pm: The probables for the ministerial berths include Nirmala Sitharaman, Smriti Irani, Sadananda Gowda, Arjun Meghwal, Kiren Rijiju, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Piyush Goyal, Prakash Javadekar, Ramdas Athavale, Jitender Singh, Suresh Angadi, Babul Supriyo, Kailash Chowdhury, Prahlad Joshi and G Kishan Reddy.

12:35 pm: BJP allies like Shiv Sena, JD(U), AIADMK, LJP, Akali Dal and Apna Dal are set to be represented in the government. Each NDA ally is likely to get one cabinet berth, sources said. 

12:25 pm: The Ministers who will take oath this evening will meet PM Narendra Modi at 4:30 PM today at 7, Lok Kalyan Marg, reports ANI. 

12:19 pm: Amit Shah will be hosting a dinner for the district, state chiefs and the state election chiefs later today. 

12:08 pm: Ahead of the oath-taking ceremony later today, PM Modi paid tributes to Mahatma Gandhi and BJP veteran late Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

12:03 pm: PM Modi held a final round of consultations with BJP president Amit Shah today and is learnt to have given shape to his council of ministers ahead of the swearing-in ceremony of his new government in the evening. 

11:57 am:

11:54 am: According to reports, around 50-60 ministers willtake oath along with PM Modi which will include around 8-10 from allies of the NDA. 

11:44 am: Arun Jaitley on Wednesday wrote to PM Modi, announcing his decision not to seek a ministerial position in Modi 2.0 government due to health reasons. 

Posted By: Abhinav Gupta