New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Amid the ongoing impasse with Shiv Sena over the contentious issue of power sharing in Maharashtra, BJP sources, quoted by news agency ANI, said that the party is “waiting and watching” and made it clear that it will not compromise on the chief minister post.

“We are waiting and watching. Our doors are open to discussions with Shiv Sena. There will be no compromise on CM post. We are open to distribution of ministerial portfolios,” BJP sources were quoted as saying.

The Shiv Sena has been reiterating its demand of 50:50 power sharing in the new government in Maharashtra, along with 2.5 years of CM post, which it claims was a part of the seat-sharing deal discussed between the warring allies before the state elections. The BJP, however, has rejected the demand, clearing its stand that Devendra Fadnavis will continue as the chief minister for the nest five years.

On the other hand, Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut -- after claiming that his party has the support of 170 MLAs and that the next CM will be a Shiv Sainik -- on Monday met Governor Bhagat Singh Koshiyari. 

With the deadlock over formation of government continuing in the state, Raut also said on Sunday that talks with the BJP will take place only on the issue of the chief minister's post.

His meeting with NCP chief Sharad Pawar last week had sparked off speculations of the possibility of formation of an alternative government in the 288-seat state assembly.   

With the government formation in Maharashtra in a limbo, NCP chief Sharad Pawar is scheduled to meet Congress president Sonia Gandhi in the national capital today. On the other hand, Fadnavis also met BJP chief Amit Shah to discuss the political scenario in Maharashtra. 

After gaining a clear majority in the October 21 state elections, the ruling alliance partners BJP and Shiv Sena have been locked in a deadlock over sharing of the chief minister's post and are yet to start formal talks over government formation.

In the polls to 288-member state Assembly, the BJP won 105 seats, Shiv Sena-56, NCP-54 and Congress-44.

Posted By: Abhinav Gupta