Mumbai | Jagran News Desk: NCP chief Sharad Pawar on Saturday said that Ajit Pawar's decision to support the BJP is his personal decision and the party does not support or endorse it.

"Ajit Pawar's decision to support the BJP to form the Maharashtra Government is his personal decision and not that of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). We place on record that we do not support or endorse this decision of his," Pawar said in a tweet on Saturday. 

In a big twist, BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis and NCP's Ajit Pawar on Saturday took oath as Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister of the state. The oath was administerated by Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari in the Raj Bhavan at around 8 am in the presence of a few BJP and NCP leaders, and other government officials.

Catch all the LIVE updates on Maharashtra Government Formation here

This comes hours after intense deliberations between the Congress, NCP and Shiv Sena to form a government in the state reached the final stage on Friday and the three parties inched closer to announce an alliance.

After taking oath as the Chief Minister of the state, Fadnavis said that the state needed a stable government not a 'khichdi' government'. "People had given us a clear mandate, but Shiv Sena tried to ally with other parties after results, as a result President's rule was imposed. Maharashtra needed a stable govt not a 'khichdi' government," he said.

Also Read | 'Thought it was fake news': Congress' Abhishek Singhvi takes 'fast movers' dig at his party as Fadnavis, Ajit Pawar take oath as CM and deputy CM

Meanwhile, Ajit Pawar said that no party was able to form government, following which, the NCP and the BJP decided to form a stable government in the state.

"From result day to this day no party was able to form Govt, Maharashtra was facing many problems including farmer issues, so we decided to form a stable government," Pawar said.  

The BJP had emerged as the single largest party in the state by winning 105 seats while the Shiv Sena won 56 eats. The NCP and the Congress won 54 and 44 seats respectively.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma