Mumbai | Jagran News Desk: The run-up to the Maharashtra Assembly polls has gained pace and the political parties have started their preparations for the upcoming polls. The major contest in Maharashtra is between the ruling BJP-Shiv Sena alliance and the Congress-NCP coalition.  

The BJP is high on confidence after getting a thumping victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections and believes that the abrogation of Article 370 and 35A in Jammu and Kashmir, amendment of Triple Talaq, amendment in Insolvency and Bankruptcy, the National Investigation Agency bill will help it come victorious.

On the other hand, Congress is facing a leadership and identity crisis after the drubbing it got in the recently concluded Lok Sabha Elections. The party is also facing discontent in the state over ticket distribution.

In the upcoming Assembly polls in Maharashtra, many dynast candidates have thrown their hats and will be trying their luck. So here are the key dynast candidates in the upcoming Assembly elections in Maharashtra: 

Aditya Thackeray:

Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray’s son Aaditya Thackeray is the first member of his family to contest an election in the five decades since his grandfather Bal Thackeray founded the Shiv Sena. He will contest from the Worli assembly constituency in Mumbai.

According to sources, Shiv Sena is projecting him as the CM’s face if the NDA returns to power in the upcoming assembly polls in the state.

Ashish Deshmukh:

Deshmukh, a former BJP MLA, joined Congress and the party has fielded him from the Nagpur South West seat against Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis. Ashish is the son of former state Congress Committee chief Ranjit Deshmukh.

Amit Deshmukh:

He is the son of Congress leader Vilasrao Deshmukh. He is the National Secretary of the All India Congress Committee. Amit entered the Maharashtra Political scene at a young age. Working from the grassroots, he actively participated in the 1997 Latur Nagar Parishad elections at the age of 21 and was involved in the campaigning for Shivraj Patil in the 1999 Lok Sabha elections. He will contest from Latur city.

Dhiraj Deshmukh:

Dhiraj Deshmukh is the son of former Congress leader Vilasrao Deshmukh and brother of Amit Deshmukh. He will be trying his fate in the assembly polls for the first time from Latur rural.   

Rohini Khadse:

Rohini is the daughter of veteran leader Eknath Khadse. She will be contesting from the Muktainagar constituency on a BJP ticket.

Rohit Pawar:

Gandnewphew of NCP chief Sharad Pawar, Rohit will be trying his luck from the Karjat-Jamkhed Assembly constituency in Ahmednagar district against BJP minister Ram Shinde.

Ashok Chavan:

The former Maharashtra Chief Minister and son of former CM Shankarrao Chavan, Ashok Chavan is contesting from the Bhokar constituency in Maharashtra.

Praniti Shinde:

Daughter of former Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde, Praniti has been fielded from the Solapur Central constituency as a Congress candidate.   

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma