New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The counting of votes for the polls held on October 21 on the 288-seat Maharashtra Legislative Assembly concluded on Thursday. The people of Maharashtra gave their mandate to the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance, which manages 161 seats (as per the official figures by the election commission) out of 288 seats. While the BJP garnered 105 seats, its smaller ally Shiv Sena grabbed 56 seats.

The opposition, Congress and NCP alliance, on the other hand, managed to caught hold on 98 seats, with NCP winning a larger share of 54 seats, the Congress won 44 seats. Independent candidates won on 13 seats, while the UP’s regional party Samajwadi Party manages to garner 2 seats in the Maratha state.

Click here to catch all the LIVE updates of the day

The BJP announced to retain the power in the state and thanked the people for giving a "clear and decisive mandate" to the BJP-led Mahayuti (grand alliance).

As the Fadnavis-led government on the verge of forming the government again, here are the latest developments in the political scenario in the state.

In the latest developments after the night of celebrations, Shiv Sena’s regional paper, Saamna, on Friday, hits out at the BJP for giving the turncoats an opportunity which eventually ended up losing the seat. In the paper Sena wrote, "Elections cannot be won with the help of turncoats as it has been seen in Satara where Udayrajaje Bhosale was defeated by a huge margin."


After the attack of Sena’s mouthpiece Saamna, several posters were also seen in the Worli constituency in which demand for Aaditya Thackeray as CM were raised along with a life size picture of the Thackeray heir.

In the most surprising way, Shiv Sena this time fielded Aaditya Thackeray from Worli seat who won the elections with a margin of over 60,000 votes, making him the first Sena member to contest the elections and winning it.

Also Read | BJP set to form govt in Haryana with Independents' support, Khattar may take oath tomorrow | Updates

With Aaditya’s win, the chances of conflict within the alliance also rose, as the Shiv Sena started to demand CM post for the Thackeray heir. Sena leader Sanjay Raut yesterday raised the narrative to make Aaditya the Chief Minister and said that the BJP cannot form the government without Shiv Sena’s support.

Sena chief and Aaditya Thackeray also indicated the possibility to raise Aaditya as CM narrative in the meeting with its partner and said that ‘there will be discussions and after that we will decide on the CM post’, "It is time to remind the BJP about the formula arrived at when BJP chief Amit Shah visited my home....we had decided on a fifty-fifty formula for the alliance", he said adding “We agreed to contest fewer seats (than the BJP), but I cannot accommodate the BJP every time. I should allow my party to grow".

Even though, the BJP-led Mahayuti has the mandate on its side, the BJP has failed to match the numbers it got in the 2014 assembly elections. However, it did not did not dampen the enthusiam of Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, who announced that the BJP-Sena combine will rule the state for another term. According to CM Fadnavis, despite the low number as compared to last elections, BJP’s strike is much better this time.

Also Read | Maharashtra Assembly Election Result 2019 | Full list of winners of BJP, Shiv Sena, Congress and NCP candidates

Calling it an opportunity for the opposition, former CM Prithriviraj Chavan said that the results throw up an ‘interesting possibility’ for the NCP-Congress to align with Shiv Sena to rule out the BJP from the state. However, NCP Chief Sharad Pawar ruled out the speculations of talks between the opposition and Shiv Sena, and said that they respect the people’s mandate and will not go to Shiv Sena to form the government.


Crossing the limit the NCP had set in last elections, this time the smaller ally of Congress has fared up a good show by winning 54 seats in the elections, 10 more than the Congress itself and emerged as the largest gainer, while the BJP’s tally took a considerable dip from 122 seats in 2014 to 105 in 2019.

Posted By: Talib Khan