Mumbai | Jagran News Desk: Amid the ongoing tussles with Shiv Sena over the formation of government in Maharashtra, Devendra Fadnavis was elected as the leader of the BJP Legislature Party on Wednesday.

Addressing the media, Fadnavis conveyed his gratitude to PM Modi and BJP President Amit Shah for trusting him with the responsibility of the running the state again.

“This is a huge victory. Since 1995, no party had got more than 75 seats. And consistently, for 2014 and 2019, we got more than 100,” said the incumbent Maharashtra Chief Minister.

“This mandate is surely for 'mahayuti' (BJP-Shiv Sena alliance) as we sought votes for 'mahayuti'. People also voted for it. So there should be not doubt. It will be a 'mahayuti' government,” Fadnavis added.

The meeting was held at Vidhan Bhawan in south Mumbai. It comes in the backdrop of the power sharing tussle between the BJP and Shiv Sena after results of the October 21 Assembly elections were declared on October 24.

After the results, Shiv Sena reminded the BJP of the 50:50 formula "agreed upon" between himself, BJP president Amit Shah and Fadnavis ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. However, Fadnavis on Tuesday said that the Shiv Sena was not promised the CM post and asserted that he will be the Chief Minister of Maharashtra for another five years.

“Sena was not promised CM post for 2.5 years when alliance formalised before Lok sabha polls. I will be CM for another five years,” Fadnavis had said.

In the recent polls to 288-member Assembly, the BJP won 105 seats, a loss of 17 seats compared to its 2014 tally. The Sena's tally also came down to 56 seats from 63 in 2014. A resurgent NCP won 54 and the Congress bagged 44 seats.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma