New Delhi | Jagran Politics Desk: The counting of votes for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly By-polls is underway and the latest trends by the Election Commission of India have suggested a clear win for the BJP. As per the latest trends, the BJP has won 9 seats and leads on 10 others while the Congress has won 1 seat and is ahead on 8 seats and the BSP is leading on 1 seat.

The exit polls aired on November 7 predicted a comfortable win for the BJP and suggested that the BJP is likely to win 17 seats of the 28 assembly seats, where the by-polls were conducted. The Exit Poll also predicted that the Congress is expected to win 11 seats, showing a comfortable position for the Shivraj Singh Chouhan-led BJP government in the state.

Here is the list of winning candidates on 28 Assembly Seats:

Assembly Constituency Winner 2020 Winner 2018
Joura TBD Banavareelal Sharma
Sumaoli TBD Adal Singh Kasana
Morena TBD Raghuraj Singh Kansana
Dimani TBD Girraj Dandotiya
Ambah TBD Kamlesh Jatav
Mehgaon TBD OPS Bhadoriya
Gohad TBD Ranvir Jatav
Gwalior TBD Bharat Singh Kushwah
Gwalior East TBD Munnalal Goyal
Dabra TBD Imarti Devi
Bhander TBD Raksha Devi
Karera TBD Jasmant
Pohari TBD Suresh Dhakad
Bamori Mahendra Singh Sisodia (BJP) Mahendra Singh Sisodia
Ashok Nagar Jajpal Singh Jajji (BJP) Jajpal Singh Jajji
Mungaoli Brajendra Singh Yadav (BJP) Brajendra Singh Yadav
Surkhi TBD Govind Singh Rajput
Malhara TBD Kunwar Pradyumna Singh Lodhi
Anuppur Bisahulal Singh (BJP) Bisahulal Singh
Sanchi Dr Prabhuram Choudhary (BJP) Dr Prabhuram Choudhary
Biaora Ramchandra Dangi (INC) Govardhan Dangi
Agar TBD Manohar Untwal
Hatpipliya TBD Manoj Narayan Singh Chaudhary
Mandhata Narayan Singh Patel (BJP) Narayan Singh Patel
Nepanagar Sumitra Devi Kasdekar (BJP) Sumitra Devi Kasdekar
Badnawar Rajvardhan Singh (BJP) Rajvardhan Singh
Sanwer TBD Tulsiram Silawat
Suwasra Dung Hardeep Singh (BJP) Hardeep Singh

The MP Bypolls were held on November 3 along with the second phase of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020. There are a total of 230 assembly seats in Madhya Pradesh legislative assembly. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) needs 8 seats to remain in power and to reach the majority figure of 115, while the Congress needs to win all 28 seats to return to power. The BJP currently has 107 MLAs in the House.

In March, a total of 25 Congress MLAs resigned and joined the Bharatiya Janata Party. After this, the number of Congress declined and it was stuck at 87. On the other hand, the House has four Independents, two BSP and one SP MLA. By-elections were held in 28 seats due to the resignation of 25 MLAs and the death of three MLAs.

Posted By: Talib Khan