Bengaluru | Jagran News Desk: In a near sweep, the BS Yediyurappa-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 12 off the 15 Assembly seats that wen to poll on December 5 and retained power in Karnataka. The Congress managed to win just two seats while the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) faced total rout in the bypolls.

“Of all the results declared for 15 Assembly seats, the BJP won 12, Congress 2, while the JD-S drew a blank,” news agency IANS quoted poll official G Jadiyappa as saying.

The BJP won the seats in Athani, Kagwad, Gokak, Yellapur, Hirekerur, Ranibennur, Vijayanagara, Chikkaballapur, KR Pura, Yeshvanthpur, Mahalakshmi Layout and Krishnarajapete while the Congress won Hunasur in Mysuru district and Shivajinagara in Bengaluru central.

The bypolls in Karnataka were considered to be a litmus test as the party needed to win at least six seats to retain power in the state.

After the results, Chief Minister Yediyurappa said that the party will now be able to give a stable and a pro-people government in the state.

“I am happy that people have given a very good verdict. Now, without any problem we can give a pro-people and a stable government,” he said.

Yediyurappa is likely to go in for a cabinet expansion soon also. However, this will not be an easy task for him as he will have to strike a balance by accommodating the victorious disqualified legislators in his ministry, as promised by him.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched a scathing attack at the Congress accusing them of stealing people’s mandate in Karnataka through back door. He also said that the people of Karnataka has taught Congress a lesson in the just-concluded bypolls.

“The Congress and its allies subverted the mandate in Karnataka, stabbed it in the back. These parties will now have to bite the dust. The bypolls results today showed that the voters have ensured that the Congress and the JD(S) don't get to stab them in the back again,” the Prime Minister said at an election rally in Jharkhand.

However, the bypolls were a major set back for the Congress as the party won just two seats -- Hunasur in Mysuru district and Shivajinagara in Bengaluru central.

Morally accepting the loss of the party in the bypolls, senior Congress leader Siddaramaiah resigned as the party’s legislature leader and submitted his resignation Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi.

“As a leader of legislative party, I need to respect democracy. I have resigned as Congress Legislative Party leader. I have submitted my resignation to Sonia Gandhi ji,” he said.

The bypolls were also a set back for the HD Kumaraswam-led JD(S) which faced a total rout in the state.

The elections in the 15 Assembly consituencies were held on December 5 after 17 Congress-JD(S) MLAs submitted their resignation, triggering a collapsed of the HD Kumaraswamy government.

The resignations had also reduced the majority mark in Karnataka Assembly to 104 following which the BJP, with 105 MLAs, staked claim to form the government in the state.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma