Ranchi | Jagran News Desk: Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) working president Hemant Soren on Sunday took oath as the 11th Chief Minister of Jharkhand. This is the second time that Soren has been sworn in as the Chief Minister of Jharkhand. The oath was administered by Governor Droupadi Murmu at the Morabadi Ground in Ranchi. The event was termed as ‘Sankalp diwas’ of an era of new Jharkhand. 

Along with Soren, Congress Legislature Party Leader Alamgir Alam, state Congress president Rameshwar Oraon and RJD MLA Satyanand Bhokta were also sworn in as state cabinet ministers.

Also Read | Anti-incumbency sinks Raghubar Das-led BJP, Congress-JMM set to form govt

In a show of opposition strength, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel and West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, and Loktantrik Janata Dal (LJD) leader Sharad Yadav were among the senior leaders who attended the event.

Other opposition leaders who attended the event included RJD's Tejashwi Yadav, AAP MP Sanjay Singh, CPI's Atul Kumar Anjan, and D Raja, CPI-M leader Sitaraman Yechury, and RPN Singh, who was Congress in-charge of Jharkhand Assembly polls.

Also Read | 'It is my loss, not of BJP': Raghubar Das concedes defeat as JMM-Cong-RJD knocks down BJP in Jharkhand

Earlier in the day, Soren had appealed the people of the Jharkhand to be a part of his oath-taking ceremony. "I am extremely grateful for the clear majority that you people gave to our alliance. I understand your expectations from the new government. I want to invite all of you to the oath ceremony," he had said.

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), along with the Congress and the RJD, got a clear majority in the recently concluded Assembly elections in the state. The alliance bagged 47 seats of the 81 member assembly.  The JMM won 30 seats while the Congress and the RJD emerged victorious on 16 and one seat respectively.

Soren, who is the son of former Jharkhand CM Shibu Soren, earlier served as the CM of the state in 2013. He had also served as the deputy-CM of the state in the Arjun Munda cabinet. 

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma