Ranchi | Jagran News Desk: Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) leader Hemant Soren will take oath as the 11th Chief Minister of Jharkhand at the Morabadi Ground in Ranchi on Sunday at 2.00 pm. The oath will be administered by Governor Droupadi Murmu. The event has been termed as ‘Sankalp diwas’ of an era of new Jharkhand, said an official release.

“Governor Droupadi Murmu will administer the oath to Hemant Soren as chief minister at 2 pm on December 29 at Morabadi ground,” the official release said.

According to a report by news agency IANS, Rameshwar Oraon, the President of Congress' Jharkhand unit, Alamgeer Alam, leader of Congress legislative part and senior JMM leader Stepehen Marandi, a former Deputy Chief Minister, will also be sworn in.

Also Read | Anti-incumbency sinks Raghubar Das-led BJP, Congress-JMM set to form govt

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, former President Pranab Mukherjee, former Finance Minister P Chidambaram, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav and other national and regional leaders from across the political spectrum will attend the event.

Soren, along with Congress and RJD leaders, had met Governor Draupadi Murmu at Raj Bhawan on Tuesday and staked claim to form the government in Jharkhand. The alliance of JMM-Congress-RJD had bagged 47 seats in the recently concluded assembly elections in the state.

The JMM had won 30 seats, the Congress emerged victorious on 16 while the RJD secured one seat.

Also Read | 'It is my loss, not of BJP': Raghubar Das concedes defeat as JMM-Cong-RJD knocks down BJP in Jharkhand

After staking claim, Soren on Wednesday met Congress interim President Sonia Gandhi and invited her to his oath-taking ceremony. After meeting the Congress President, Soren said that the trio of JMM-Congress- RJD will provide a ‘stable’ government in the state.

Assembly Elections were held in Jharkhand in five phases and the results were announced on December 23. The alliance of JMM-Congress-RJD emerged victorious and bagged 47 seats while the BJP won just 25 seats.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma