Chakradharpur | Jagran News Desk: Union Home Minister and BJP President Amit Shah on Monday addressed a rally Jharkhand’s Chakradharpur and urged the people of the state to exercise franchise in favour of his party, contending that their votes would decide if the state would walk on the path of development or Naxalism.

“In the last five years, Narendra Modi government and Raghubar Das government uprooted Naxalism from Jharkhand and cleared the path for development,” he said.

“I am sure Jharkhand wants Kashmir to be an integral part of India. Jharkhand wants terror to end. Jharkhand wants Naxalism to end. Jharkhand wants Ramlalla's temple to be built in Ayodhya,” he added.

Also Read | ‘We will implement NRC across India,’ says Rajnath Singh

The Home Minister also attcked the Congress and challenged Rahul Gandhi, who is also in Jharkhand, to give an account of his party's development programmes in the region over the past 55 years.

“Congress leader Rahul Gandhi is in Jharkhand today. I would like to ask him to give an account of his party's development programmes of 55 years, we are here with our account of five years,” he said.

He further said that Hemant Soren is trying to become the Chief Minister of the state while sitting on the lap of Congress as their objective is to get the power.

“Due to thirst for power, today Hemant Soren is trying to become Chief Minister while sitting on the lap of Congress. Their objective is to get power but BJP's objective is to push forward the state on the path of development,” he said.

Also Read | 'Snatched land of tribals and gave it to industrialists': Rahul Gandhi's scathing attack on BJP

He also said that said parties that exploit tribals, indulge in graft worth crores, and buy and sell poll tickets could never work for Jharkhand's development.

Assembly elections are being held in Jharkhand in five phases. Chakradharpur will go to polls in the second phase on December 7. The BJP has fielded partys state unit chief Laxman Gilua from the seat.

The rest of the four phases for the 81-member assembly will be held on December 7, 12, 16 and 20 while the results will be announced on December 23.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma