New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The Congress party on Sunday released the manifesto for the upcoming assembly elections in Jharkhand. The manifesto was released by the party's election in-charge RPN Singh in presence of other leaders in the state. Strengthening MNREGA scheme, right to health and buying forest produce at fair prices were among the key promises made by Congress in its election manifesto.

The party has announced a pre-poll alliance with Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Lalu Yadav's Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD) for assembly elections in the state, with former Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren as the alliance CM's candidate. He will fight the assembly polls from Dumka and Barhet-- a seat which he holds currently. His sister-in-law Sita Soren will be also be fighting from one of the constituencies in Jharkhand.

Congress will contest 31 out of 81 seats in the Jharkhand assembly. The RJD will contest on seven seats while JMM, who has the largest chunk of the alliance will contest on 43 seats. The elections will take place in five phases beginning from November 30 and end on December 20.

Also Read| Jharkhand Assembly Elections 2019: BJP releases fourth list of candidates for upcoming polls in state

There are 28 tribal seats in the 81-member Jharkhand Assembly.

The first phase of Jharkhand Assembly Elections, voting will take place in Chatra (SC), Gumla (ST), Bishunpur (ST), Lohardaga (ST), Manika (ST), Latehar (SC), Panki, Daltonganj, Bishrampur, Chhatarpur (SC), Hussainabad, Garhwa and Bhawanathpur. The results will be declared on December 23.

In the last elections that was held in 2014, the ruling BJP (35 seats) had formed the government with All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) that had won 17 seats. In the 2019 Lok Sabha polls too, the party won 12 of 14 parliamentary seats.

The tenure of the 81-member state assembly will end on January 5, 2020. This will be the fourth assembly election in Jharkhand since it was carved out in 2000.

Posted By: James Kuanal