New Delhi | Jagran news Desk: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday released its first list of 52 candidates for the upcoming Assembly elections in Jharkhand. Chief Minister Raghubar Das will be contesting from Jamshedpur East while Jharkhand BJP chief Laxman Giluwa will contest from Chakradharpur.

The list was released by BJP working President JP Nadda who said that the state, under the leadership of Das, had seen reduced corruption levels and had become known for stability and development. 

"Five years back, Jharkhand was known for corruption and instability. Today, under the leadership of Raghubar Das, Jharkhand is known for its stability and development. Corruption has been brought down and the state is moving towards development," BJP working president JP Nadda told media here.


The party has also announced the names of Anant Ojha from Rajmahal, Louis Marandi from Dumka, Raj Paliwal from Madhupur, Manish Jayaswal from Hazaribagh, Raj Sinha from Dhanbad and CP Singh from Ranchi among others.

Elections in the Jharkhand will be held in five phases starting November 30 while the results will be declared on December 23. The voting dates for the five phases are November 30, December 7, December 12, December 16 and December 20.

The tenure for 81-member Jharkhand Assembly is ending on 5 January. This will be the fourth Assembly election in Jharkhand since the state was carved out in 2000.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma