New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: As it became evident that the alliance of Congress, JMM and the RJD will form the government in Jharkhand and JMM leader Hemant Soren will become the next Chief Minister, Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated the combine and said that the BJP respects the mandate given by the people of Jharkhand. 

"Congratulations to Hemant Soren Ji and the JMM-led alliance for the victory in the Jharkhand polls. Best wishes to them in serving the state," PM Modi said in a tweet.

In another tweet, PM Modi applauded the party Karyakartas for their efforts and said that the BJP will continue serving Jharkhand and raising people-centric issues in the times to come. 

Also Read | Anti-incumbency sinks Raghubar Das-led BJP, Congress-JMM set to form govt

"I thank the people of Jharkhand for having given BJP the opportunity to serve the state for many years. I also applaud the hardworking Party Karyakartas for their efforts. We will continue serving the state and raising people-centric issues in the times to come," he said in another tweet.

Earlier in the day, Union Home Minister and BJP President Amit Shah expressed his gratitude to the people of Jharkhand for giving the BJP a chance to govern the state for five years and asserted that his party remains committed to its development. He also lauded BJP workers for their "untiring" efforts in the assembly polls.

Also Read | 'It is my loss, not of BJP': Raghubar Das concedes defeat as JMM-Cong-RJD knocks down BJP in Jharkhand

"We respect the mandate given by the people of Jharkhand. We express our gratitude towards them for giving us the opportunity to serve them for five years. BJP is committed towards continuous development in the state," he said in a tweet in Hindi.

The results for the Assembly Elections in Jharkhand, which were held in five phases, were out on Monday with JMM-Congress-RJD alliance coming victorious. 

Also Read | Hemant Soren, son of a three-time CM, who may now lead Jharkhand

The results fall in line with exit polls -- which were broadcast on December 20 -- which had predicted that the JMM-Congress-RJD alliance will emerge victorious in the state and incumbent Raghubar Das-led BJP likely to fall significantly short of the majority mark. 

In 2014, the BJP had a clear majority in the House with 37 seats, while its ally AJSU managed to win five Assembly seats. The tenure of the current Assembly ends on January 5, 2020. This is the fourth Assembly election in Jharkhand since the state was carved out of Bihar in 2000. Polling on 81 Assembly seats in Jharkhand was held in five phases from November 30 to December 20.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma